Diveyevsky monastery of Serafim of Sarov

Monastery in Diveevo (Serafimo-Diveevo Monastery)

Monastery in Diveevo (Serafimo-Diveevo Monastery)

The Orthodox Holy Trinity Serafimo-Diveyevo Nunnery (abbreviated – Diveevo) is located in the village of Diveevo, 180 km from Nizhny Novgorod, 450 km from Moscow. Pilgrims from all over Russia and even from other countries come here to lay their hands on the relics of St. Seraphim of Sarov (cassock, girdles, ropes, kettle), whose name is associated with numerous miraculous healings. The place is also known for its healing springs.

According to tradition, Diveevo is the fourth appanage of the Blessed Virgin Mary on earth, along with the Georgian Iberia, Athos in Greece and the Kiev-Pechersk Lavra in Ukraine.

Hotels near the Diveevo Monastery

Not far from the monastery you can stay in one of 17 buildings for pilgrims. Detailed information is available in the Pilgrim Center near the entrance to the monastery. For accommodation it is necessary to make a fixed amount of donation. Pre-booking can be done 2 months in advance, but no later than 3 days before arrival.

There are housings, which are occupied only by women or men, offering accommodation from 2 to 8 people per room and other options. Detailed information on how to stay in the pilgrimage enclosures, you can read at the official website of the monastery.

Monastery in Diveevo (Serafimo-Diveevo Monastery)

Prices at the Diveevo Monastery

In the monastery there are various church rituals. The faithful write notes in the temple with the names of their loved ones, so that during services the clergy will read out these names. Thus, the Orthodox wish to help their loved ones, to take care of the souls of the deceased or the health of the living.

In the Serafimo-Diveyevsky monastery it is possible to order the following requiems:

  • Funeral services for the deceased – 10 rubles for 1 name.
  • Lenten burial service for Lent – 30 rubles for 1 name. Names are commemorated each day of Lent.
  • Holy Communion with removal of a particle from a prosphora – 10 rubles for 1 name.
  • Ordinary funeral feast – 20 rubles per note with names up to 15 people.
  • Holy Communion – commemoration at Mass for 40 days. Communion with removal of small particle from a prosphora – 400 rubles for 1 name.
  • Psalter for 1 year – 1000 rubles for 1 name. Psalter for 6 months – 500 rubles for 1 name.
  • Prayers for health – prayers for living people: a prayer with Akathist to St. Seraphim – 100 rubles. Are held daily, up to 25 people can be booked.
  • Prayer service with water blessing – 80 rubles. Held on Mondays, can be booked for up to 15 people. Ordinary prayer is 60 rubles for 15 names. Every Monday.

Place an order for a candlelight vigil.

Requests can be ordered at the monastery itself or in another city by email or postal order. Details and the bank account to transfer donations for the services are on the website of the Serafimo-Diveevsky monastery.

Monastery in Diveevo (Serafimo-Diveevo Monastery)

Worship schedule

The territory of the monastery opens at 05:00 am, and at 22:00 pm the gates close. Pilgrims are recommended to spend the whole day on the territory of the monastery. Then it will be possible to attend all the divine services:

  • 05:30-07:00 – daily liturgy, Thursday and Friday midnight mass.
  • 07:00 – a moleben with acathist to St. Seraphim of Sarov
  • 13:00 and 14:00 – on weekdays – a prayer service with the Akathist to St. Seraphim of Sarov
  • 08:00 on weekdays – Divine Liturgy, 15 minutes before the start there is general confession.
  • 08:00 on Sundays – Paraclete: Prayer Canon to the Mother of God, 09:00 – Liturgy.
  • 10:00 – daily, except Sundays, mass in the Kazan Cathedral
  • 17:00 – 20:00 – Evening Divine Service, Saturday Vigil.

The relics of Venerable Seraphim of Sarov may be touched any day from 08:00 to 20:00. Relics of Blessed Pelageya, Paraskeva, Mary, Saint Matrona of Diveevsk, Venerable Alexandra, Martha and Elena of Diveevsk can be relicited daily from 08:00 to 17:00.

Baths of holy sources are available daily from 05:00 to 22:00 hours.

Annals of the Seraphim-Diveyevsky Monastery

The history of the monastery goes back to the second half of the 18th century: at that time Mother Alexandra (Agafia Semenovna Melgunova) had a vision of the Blessed Virgin Mary, who pointed her to the place where the monastery would be founded. The foundation of the Kazan church, consecrated in 1780, Matushka Alexandra laid it on her own money, received from the sale of all the property. The founder of the monastery died in 1789 at the walls of the Kazan Church, having been tonsured into the Great scheme.

Gradually, new buildings of the monastery appeared. Next to the Kazan community was equipped Mill community in 1827, later they were merged into one. The second community owes its name to the fact that first there was a mill, and then the cells for the sisters.

In 1861 the Diveevskaya community was elevated to the status of a monastery. From that time until 1904 many buildings were erected, including a bell tower, about 30 buildings for the sisters and the Trinity cathedral, in which you can worship the relics of St. Seraphim of Sarov.

READ
Alexander Monastery in Suzdal and its attractions

Monastery in Diveevo (Serafimo-Diveevo Monastery)

In 1905 began construction of another large cathedral, but he did not have time to consecrate, as the revolution began. In 1927 the Soviet regime closed the monastery, some of the domes were torn down, the stone fence was destroyed, and the cemetery and the temple there were demolished. In the 1950s, the Church of Our Lady of Kazan was severely damaged. The nuns and novices after the closure of the monastery tried to preserve some of Diveevo’s sacred objects.

The revival of the monastery began in 1988. First, the church parish was registered, and then the opening of the monastery took place. Before the consecration, the icon of Seraphim of Sarov was solemnly brought into the Kazan church.

Now on the territory of the monastery are the following objects:

  • cathedrals: of Kazan, Trinity, Transfiguration, and Annunciation.
  • Churches: of the Nativity of Christ, the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, as well as the Church of Kazan at the spring.
  • temples: Refectory church in the name of the Holy Prince Alexander Nevsky, other house temples.
  • bell tower.
  • chapel.

To date, all buildings have been restored, the walls of the cathedrals have been painted. Work on the landscaping of the surrounding land is in progress. Read about the history of each building on the website of the monastery.

In addition to the relics of St. Seraphim an important holy relic of Diveevo is a canal of the Mother of God (Path of the Mother of God) with a length of 700 meters, which starts behind the Cathedral of Transfiguration and encircles the monastery. The ditch designed to protect the monastery from the Antichrist was dug by St. Seraphim himself, and the work was finished after his death. Today thousands of pilgrims walk the path with the name of the Mother of God on their lips. Prayer to the Blessed Virgin Mary must be recited 150 times. Another significant relic is the icon of the Mother of God “Humility,” preserved from the Venerable Seraphim.

Monastery in Diveevo (Serafimo-Diveevo Monastery)

Saints of the Seraphim-Diveyevsky Monastery

The names of several saints, whose relics are kept in the cathedrals of the monastery, are connected with the history of the monastery:

  • Reverend Seraphim of Sarov.
  • Reverend wives of Diveyevsky: Elena, Martha and Alexandra.
  • Blessed women of Diveevo: Maria, Paraskeva Ivanovna, Pelagia Ivanovna.
  • New Martyrs and New Martyrs

Miracles

Many believers share their stories of healings that occurred as a result of visiting Diveevo, bathing in the springs or applying to the relics. You can read some accounts of miracles on the website of the Trinity Seraphim of Diveevo Monastery.

Excursions with a visit to the Serafimo-Diveyevsky monastery

How to get to Trinity Serafimo-Diveyevsky monastery

The monastery is located in the village of Diveevo in the south of the Nizhny Novgorod region. You can come here as part of a tour group or get here on your own.

How to get from Moscow to Diveevo

From Moscow you can get to the monastery in the following ways:

  • By train: from the Kazanskiy railway station daily during the day depart to the station Arzamas-2. Travel time is 6 hours and 30 minutes. The cheapest tickets are sitting tickets (680 rubles). Tickets “train + bus” are available for sale by “Russian Railways”. So you can change from the train number 112M “Moscow – Krugloe Polye” and number 072G “Moscow – Cheboksary” to the bus number 517G from Arzamas-2 station to Diveevo village. Departure – at 09:00 hours, travel time – 1.5 hours. The return buses leave at 21:00 from Diveevo (the fare is 250 rubles).
  • By car: the most convenient route is to take a turn to Vladimir via Balashikha and then via Navashino, Kulebaki, Ardatov to Diveevo.

How to get there from Nizhny Novgorod

From Nizhny Novgorod you can take a bus: the trip takes 3 hours 30 minutes. Departure – from parking lot of REC “Nebo” about every hour, from 08:00 to 22:15. The first and last trips are from the train station (boarding takes place under the metro bridge). It’s important to pre-book seats with the carriers: “Passenger” – 8-987-559-22-22, “Companion” – 8-920-020-04-88.

How to get from Arzamas

From here you can take two buses:

  • from the bus station (50 let VLKSM St.), departure – almost every hour, from 05:30 to 17:10 hours.
  • from Metro shopping center, departure – every hour from 05:30 to 23:30. It is necessary to reserve seats in advance by telephone of transport companies: “Passenger” – 8-987-559-22-22, “Companion” – 8-920-020-04-88.

You can also leave Arzamas by cab: the services of Yandex.Taxi, Maxim, the local service Taxi Gost Arzamas.

Another convenient service is a transfer to the village of Diveevo. So, the car will wait for travelers in the agreed place, and the price will be known in advance. For example, you can use the transfer KiwiTaxi:

Holy Trinity Seraphimo-Diveyevo Monastery

Phone: +7 (83134) 4-34-45 (general) +7 (83134) 4-40-49, +7 (83134) 4-39-63 (booking), +7 (83134) 4-34-45 (tours), +7 (831-34) 4-20-10 (information about trebs).

READ
Novogolutvinsky Monastery in Kolomna: all information

Diveyevo monastery

Holy Trinity Serafimo-Diveyevo Monastery (colloquially called Diveevo) is an Orthodox women’s monastery in the Nizhny Novgorod diocese of the Russian Orthodox Church. It is revered by the local Orthodox Churches as the fourth (after Iberia, Athos, and Kiev-Pechersk Lavra) “earthly appanage of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Until its closure in the 1920s, the monastery was in Nizhny Novgorod diocese (unlike the hermitage of Sarov that was in the Tambov diocese), with the status of monastery from 1861 (it was called the Serafimo-Diveevsky Troitsky monastery). The main relic of the monastery are the relics of St. Seraphim of Sarov. At the monastery operates a hotel for pilgrims.

Yandex.Weather

Content

History [ edit ]

The monastery arose in the second half of the XVIII century. In 1758 in Kiev settled a rich landowner from Ryazan – Agafia Semenovna Melgunova (+ June 13, 1789). She settled in the Florovsky monastery, but she soon set out on a wander across the Russian land, with the goal of finding a place and founding a new monastery. In 1760 she found herself, on her way to Sarov monastery, near Diveev in the village of Osinovka.

In the years 1773-1774 Matushka Alexandra in Diveev near the first wooden Stefanovskaya church in the village at her own expense was built the foundation of the Church of Kazan. Consecration of the church took place at the beginning of 1780 by the builder of Sarov hermitage Pakhomiy. The Kazan church had two side-altars: one in the name of St. Nicholas and the other in the name of the first martyr Archdeacon Stephen.

The Kazan community

Originally the Kazan stone church was a parish church, but Father Seraphim forbade the sisters to call it that, saying that over time it would be a warm monastery cathedral. The Venerable Seraphim spoke of the Church of Kazan in this way: “The Church of Kazan, my joy, will be a temple like no other! At the end of the world the whole earth will burn up, my joy, and nothing will remain. Only three churches from all over the world will be taken completely undestroyed to heaven: one in Kiev Lavra, another … (the sisters forget), and the third is your Kazan church, mother. What a church of Kazan you have!

On the advice of Sarov elders Pakhomiya and Isaiah, and with the permission of the Vladimir diocesan authorities, in 1788 Agafia Semenovna asked the local landowner Zhdanova to donate 1,300 square yards of her homestead land, located near the Kazan Church. On which the matushka built a house with outbuildings, where she settled with four novices: maiden Evdokiya Martynova, peasant maiden Ulyana Grigorieva and peasant widows Anastasia Kirilovna and Fyokla Kondratieva. The community was called Kazanskaya, the sisters lived by the strict Sarovsky charter.

In 1789 the young Hierodeacon Seraphim took over the community. After the death of the second Mother Superior Anastasia Kirillovna in 1796, Kseniya Mikhailovna Kocheulova was appointed superior of the community at the sisters’ choice. Under her, by 1826, the number of sisters in the community had increased to 40. There are memories of her 43 years of rule as a difficult and ascetic time, being severe towards herself, she did not allow any exception, leniency and cowardice towards others. Seraphim of Sarov said that she was “a great servant of God,” “a spiritual scourge,” “a pillar of fire from earth to heaven” and “a spiritual thorn.”

The Mill Community

With the blessing of Seraphim of Sarov, the Mill Community was established next to the Kazan Mill. The laying of the mill took place on December 9 (21), 1826, on the day of the conception of the Righteous Anna. On July 7, 1827 the first nuns of the Kazan community were 8 sisters. The first noblewoman of the community was a noblewoman Elena Vasilievna Manturova. At the expense of her brother Mikhail Vasilievich Manturov in 1829 near the porch of the Kazan Church was built a two-story stone church in the name of the Nativity. In the lower storey there was a church in the name of the Nativity of the Mother of God. The landowner Mikhail Vasilievich Manturov assisted in the organization of the Mill community in gratitude for healing from an incurable disease, who doomed himself to voluntary pauperism until his death (+ 1858).

The land on which the new community was located belonged to Batashev’s heirs. And one of the heiresses – Vera Andreyevna Postnikova (Batasheva) being in Sarov promised father Serafim to give him this land, making it part of her inheritance. In 1830 a formal decree came about the donation of this 400 sq. sazhens land to the Diveevskaya community.

A peasant maiden Paraskeva Stepanovna Shablygina was chosen as the first head of the new community in 1827. On the death of her father Seraphim due to her old age she was retired. Her successor was a noblewoman Alexandra Ivanovna Bulgakova – until 1834 and from 1837 until her death in 1839. From 1834 to 1837 were the peasant Irina Semyonovna Lifanova and Praskovya Semyonovna Melyukova. The fifth and last chief of the Mill Community was elected in 1839, and she was Ksenia Ilyinichna Potkhina. By that time the community had already had 115 sisters.

READ
Tatev Monastery in Armenia and the aerial tramway

The Serafimo-Diveyevsky monastery

In 1842, 9 years after the repose of Serafim, the two communities were united with the name Serafimo-Diveyevskaya. Since 1853, the Kazan church with its side-altars began to exist separately from the new community.

In 1861 the community received the status of a monastery. The first abbess was Maria (Elizabeth Alexeyevna Ushakova). In June 1848 the bishop of Nizhny Novgorod Jacob (Vecherkov) with his own hands laid the first stone in the foundation of the Trinity Church. The huge Trinity Cathedral was built for 27 years. The construction was designed by the architect A. Rezanov, who was completing the construction of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior in Moscow. One of the trustees of the monastery at the time was Nikolai Alexandrovich Motovilov, the biographer and interlocutor of St. Seraphim of Sarov. The temple was consecrated on July 28 (August 9), 1875 by Bishop Ioannikim (Rudnev) of Nizhny Novgorod.

In 1885 the construction of the abbatial building was completed. In 1902 in the eastern part of the building was built house church in the name of St. Mary Magdalene. During the visit of Emperor Nicholas II in 1903, at his request, Divine Liturgy was served in this church.

After the death of Abbess Mary in 1904, the sisters chose Nun Alexandra (Trakovskaya) as treasurer of the monastery.

By the beginning of XX century the monastery had become a major monastic community: in 1917 there were on the list of 270 nuns and 1474 novices – with a population of 520 people in the village Diveeva.

In 1919 the convent was registered as a labor artel and continued to operate. Sisters continued to observe the monastic charter and way of monastic life. Few people left the monastery.

On September 21, 1927, the monastery was closed. Some of the nuns scattered around and tried to preserve some of Diveyevo’s sacred objects. Some of the sisters found refuge in the village of Elizarievo, where the older brother of the monastic priest, Jacob (Gusev), then glorified as a martyr, served. With the blessing of the Gusev brothers, Blessed Mary Ivanovna of Diveevo was transferred to Yelizaryevo from the village of Puzo.

Abbess Alexandra (Trakovskaya; † February 1942) with part of her sisters subsequently settled in Murom, in a house near the walls of the Annunciation monastery; then Anna Efimovna Barinova (Maria in her nunhood) became the senior sister. In Murom lived sisters expelled from different monasteries, but the priest who served there recalled: “Outwardly all looked the same: dark kerchief, dark dress, but we recognized the Diveevsky ones immediately, they were sharply different from everyone else, they managed to get something in the monastery – grace. They were unlike anyone else: in communication especially pleasant, very humble, it was felt in everything – in the treatment and even in the voice. And the others were some kind of fighting nuns.

Kazan Church was closed in 1937. But even after the closure on the holiday of the Kazan icon in Diveevo continued to come from surrounding villages and hamlets, went procession with a large Kazan icon of the Mother of God, going with it to the homes of local residents. In 1947 and 1951 received requests for the opening of the monastery, but they went unheeded. In the 1950s, the upper tiers of the bell tower, the dome and the refectory part of the temple were destroyed.

One of the few sisters of Diveyevo who survived to the restoration of the monastery was nun Serafima (Bulgakov), who preserved and gave to the monastery some personal belongings of St. Seraphim of Sarov and St. Blessed Paraskeva of Diveyevo.

Revival of the monastery

The revival began in 1988, when the church parish was registered. On April 22, 1989 Archbishop Nikolai of Gorky and Arzamas consecrated a wooden church in honor of the Kazan icon of the Mother of God. For this purpose, in January, from the relatives of the last priest bought a wooden house on the outskirts of the village, next to the Kazan spring. Prior to the closure of the monastery, the house stood near Holy Kanavka, and was used as the monastery’s candle shop. Then the structure was dismantled and moved to the outskirts to provide housing for priests, who were evicted from the center of the village. An altar was added to the purchased house and a wooden bell tower was built. The consecration of the church took place on Lazarus Saturday and coincided with the memory day of the last priest of Diveevo, John (Smirnov). Before the consecration, a full-length icon of Seraphim of Sarov with a half-mantle of the reverend enclosed was brought into the church.

In October 1989 the Trinity cathedral was given to the church community. In the spring of 1990, with the rainbow shining in the clear sky, a cross was placed on it. The consecration of the Trinity Cathedral was held March 31, 1990 by Archbishop Nicholas. On August 1 the chapel was re-consecrated in honour of the “Smile” icon of the Mother of God.

READ
Danilov Monastery in Moscow, detailed information

July 21, 1991 the decision of the Holy Synod on the resumption of the monastery.

On July 31, 1991, the relics of the Venerable Seraphim of Sarov, which had been recovered a second time in St. Petersburg in the Kazan Cathedral, then a museum of atheism and religion, were solemnly brought to Diveevo.

On November 17, 1991 Metropolitan Nikolai (Kutepov) of Nizhny Novgorod and Arzamas consecrated the nun Sergia (Konkova), who had previously served as a dean in the Savior Transfiguration monastery in Riga.

In April 1992, at the behest of Serafim Sarovsky, an unquenchable candle was lit in front of the image of the Savior in the Church of the Nativity. In July, the building of the Kazan Church was transferred to the monastery. On October 21, the Church of the Nativity of the Mother of God attached to it was re-consecrated. In September, St. Nicholas Skete in Avtodeyevo was transferred to the monastery, and on December 25 – the territory of the former Kutuzovsky skete.

June 1, 1993 was re-consecrated Church of the Nativity. In the lower Church of the Nativity of the Mother of God in 1993 took place the first monastic tonsure after the opening of the monastery.

In February 20, 1995 by presidential decree the Kazan church was given a status of an architectural monument of federal importance.

In the summer of 1996 was repaired facade and restored dome over the house church in the name of St. Mary Magdalene. September 27, on the Feast of the Exaltation of the Cross on the dome was installed cross. Since 1997, work began inside the church. In 1996 was opened in the monastery’s general Orthodox school.

On September 26, 2000 the relics of Saints Alexandra, Martha and Elena of Diveyevsk were uncovered. On December 22, they were glorified as locally venerated saints of the Nizhni Novgorod diocese. Also in 2000 were completed studies that began in 1997 to clarify the state of the Church of Kazan.

In 2002, the foundations for several side chapels were laid next to the Kazan Church being restored, but then their construction was suspended until the completion of the main building, the restoration of which began in 2003.

In 2003, there was a celebration of the 100th anniversary of the canonization of Seraphim of Sarov. Services were led by His Holiness Patriarch Alexis II; the future Patriarch, Metropolitan Kyrill, was among the guests and pilgrims.

In July 2004, the Kursk celebrations were held. On July 20, after the Divine Liturgy in the Trinity Cathedral, the holy relics of the Venerable Seraphim of Sarov were transferred to the bell tower. Then they were taken by a specially equipped car to the airport of Sarov. Then they were taken by plane AN-26 of the Russian Navy via Sarov – Penza – Voronezh – Kursk. After a prayer service on the airfield the procession to the Red Square in Kursk began. In 3 hours the procession covered 11 km. During this time the bishops consecrated a chapel in honor of Seraphim of Sarov near the Cathedral of St. Sergius and Kazan Cathedral, built in the XVIII century by the parents of the Reverend – Isidor and Agathya. The procession was met by bishops near the Church of Resurrection and St. Elijah, in which the parents were married and the future elder was baptized. After that the procession proceeded to the restored Znamensky Cathedral, where between 130 and 150 thousand people reclined to the holy relics during the three days. On July 23, the relics were airlifted to Sarov, and on the same day they were transported to the Diveevo monastery.

July 31, 2004, the celebration of the 250th anniversary of the birth of St. Seraphim of Sarov began. On this day, Metropolitan Filaret of Minsk and Slutsk made the rank of the Great Consecration of the Kazan Cathedral, restored in 2004. Also, the building of the new school was consecrated and the building of the old school was transferred to the monastery. On the same day, July 31, 2004 in the ranks of locally venerated saints of the Nizhny Novgorod diocese blessed Virgin Mary Diveevskaya. Her holy relics were uncovered on September 14, and in October began her general church veneration. Since the discovery of the relics of the blessed are in the Church of Kazan. The Soviet regime forbade visits to the blessed woman, and communication with her took place secretly, through notes. To the sisters she predicted camps and exile and the subsequent rebirth of the monastery.

In the summer of 2004, the sisters of the monastery, while erecting the chapel, discovered the foundations of the mill, the foundation of which marked the beginning of the maiden community.

On September 8, 2004, Vladyka Georgii performed the rank of the Great Consecration of the southern side-altar of the Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in the name of the holy first martyr and archdeacon Stephen. Representatives of the Romanian Orthodox Church attended the consecration. On October 17, Vladyka consecrated the St. Nicholas Chapel.

READ
Nikolo-Solbinsky nunnery

On July 31, 2005, celebrations began with a little vespers in the Trinity Cathedral. On this day 5 processions came to the monastery: from Nizhny Novgorod, Arzamas, Sarov, Pavlov and Ardatov. Believers from Nizhny Novgorod walked more than 200 km for 12 days.

On February 3, 2006, Bishop George of Nizhny Novgorod and Arzamas performed the rank of the Great Consecration of the Church of St. Mary Magdalene.

On July 31, 2006, Most Holy Patriarch Alexy II, who presided over the celebrations on the occasion of the 300th anniversary of Sarovskiy hermitage, made a small vespers in the Trinity cathedral.

In April 2007, work resumed on the construction of the eight side chapels of the Church of Kazan. The project was based on a design by architect Victor Koval. By September, the construction work was completed.

With the blessing of Patriarch Alexy II, the relics of the holy confessor Matrona (Vlasova) were uncovered in September 2007. After the relics were uncovered, they were housed in the St. Mary Magdalene Apartment Church.

In April 2008 there was the reburial of the remains of the third prioress of the Kazan community Ksenia Mikhailovna Kocheulova.

In 2008 were consecrated five more chapels of the Church of Our Lady of Kazan: July 20 – in honor of the holy martyr Seraphim (Chichagov), the compiler of the “Chronicle of the Seraphim-Diveyevsky Monastery,” August 21 by Bishop George – in honor of the holy women of Diveyevo Martha, Helen and Alexandra, and October 2 – in honor of the Diveyevskaya ascetics and prayers of the Monks Martha and Pelageya (Testovs) and the holy confessor Matrona (Vlasova). Archbishop Georgy consecrated the side-altar in honor of the Holy Royal Passion-bearers on December 3, and on December 11 he consecrated the side-altar in the name of Blessed Pelageya, Maria and Paraskeva of Diveevo.

On January 17, 2009, the Vladyka consecrated the sixth chapel in honour of the holy martyr Saint Evdokiya (Shikova) and her novices: Dariya (Timolina), Dariya (Siushinskaya), and Maria, who were martyred on the eve of the feast of the Dormition of the Mother of God in 1918.

On July 22, 2009, during a visit to the monastery, President Medvedev was presented with an icon of the holy Great Martyr and Healer Panteleimon.

On September 9, 2009, in anticipation of the visit of Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia, Archbishop Georgy of Nizhny Novgorod and Arzamas performed the Divine Liturgy in the Trinity Cathedral, which was attended by Metropolitan Valentin of Orenburg and Buzuluk and Archbishop Sergiy of Samara and Syzran. Then the Patriarch met with the ruling bishops of the 12 dioceses located in the Volga Federal District. On September 10, Patriarch Kirill celebrated the Divine Liturgy in the Cathedral of the Transfiguration of the Savior.

In the evening of November 6, 2011 Archbishop George and abbess Sergia brought the Belt of the Blessed Virgin to the monastery from Arzamas. In a procession the relic was carried through the Kanavka of the Mother of God. Then the reliquary was placed under the canopy in the Transfiguration Cathedral. The next day, to the sound of the bells, the Girdle of the MostHoly Mother of God was carried out of the gates of the monastery, and a few thousand people gathered to see off the reliquary. The shrine had been kept at the monastery for less than a day, during which time it was adorned by tens of thousands of people.

On April 26, 2012 Metropolitan George of Nizhny Novgorod and Arzamas served a moleben in the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity for the beginning of a good deed, then the procession of the faithful walked along the Holy Canal and concluded the moleben on the site of the new church in the name of the Annunciation of the Most Holy Mother of God. Vladyka sprinkled the construction site and the first bucket of earth from the pit of the future temple. The Annunciation Cathedral is being built according to the design of the famous church architect Andrei Anisimov.

Modern life of the monastery [ edit ]

More than 400 nuns live in the monastery. Since 1989 in Diveevo seven churches have been restored and consecrated. The center of spiritual life remains the Trinity Cathedral with its main relic – the holy relics of St. Seraphim, Sarovsky wonderworker.

The monastery is a place of pilgrimage. For the priests hotels are equipped in the monastery, for the pilgrims built a hotel with 460 beds in the village of Severny. As of 2009, trips from Nizhny Novgorod to the monastery are organized three times a week by the diocese. The diocese and administrations of various levels organize sporadic trips for the disabled, veterans and pensioners.

Rating
( No ratings yet )
Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Free Travels And Tours
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: