Frederiksborg – the castle of the Danish kings
To get to the big castle you first have to walk past the English-style park, then past the French-style park, and then past the cut-out monograms of the current Queen Margaret II and the lake.
But let’s start the walk in order, not getting ahead of ourselves, but rather the opposite-permanently late, falling behind the organized group.
At the very beginning of the park on the shore of a small pond stands an elegant brick building, a small castle – this is the hunting lodge, built by Frederick II.
Behind it begins an oak tree, planted in the XVIII century to provide timber for the royal fleet. It was thinned out by the English in 1807, cutting down much of the forest.
These English gardens, less manicured, but very pleasant, uncrowded, laid out purely for pleasure. The small lakes
and bushes are created to convey the mood and demonstrate the beauty of nature.
Along the road to the castle among the trees is a small farmhouse with English cottages, with thatched roofs. What a delight to see these lovely houses again, I was immediately reminded of the English countryside.
Then we enter a vast park, with fountains and a baroque garden, planted as early as 1700, dominated by symmetrical plantings
and straight hedges, smooth alleys,
a large green plateau decorated with the queen’s monogram.
Cascade with fountains, the royal park with elegant antique sculptures, water channels,
monograms of the royal family composed of flowering bushes
and, of course, the magnificent lake – all this is an integral part of the whole architectural ensemble.
Over time, it became expensive to maintain such a park, and gradually it became overgrown and the cascades deteriorated. Only in 1993, restoration works were carried out, and in 1996 the park was opened for walks.
The palace is located on three small islands in the middle of Lake Slotsu (Palace Lake).
On the shore of the picturesque lake in a beautiful weather there is everything to create a mood: weeping willows, green arbors, gravel paths around ponds, swans swimming on the mirror-like water surface.
They can keep them company and take a boat ride, admiring the castle from the water.
With awe I approached the castle (as others – I do not know, castles for me is something unspeakable description!).
In 1577, Frederick II had a son named Christian IV.
In 1599, Christian IV, who was very attached to the birthplace, carried out a serious reconstruction of the castle: the dilapidated buildings were demolished and replaced by new ones, in the Renaissance spirit.
The palace was so large that it surpassed all existing Danish castles of the time, both in size and grandeur. The famous Danish architects Hans and Lorenz van Steenwinkel were hired for the construction. Christian IV named the renewed castle after his father – Frederiksborg.
All subsequent Danish monarchs also carried out various renovations to bring the castle in line with the tastes of the time, but the palace has managed to maintain its Renaissance appearance, with all the facades richly decorated with various elements.
After the death of Christian IV in 1648, the palace was used as a place for official ceremonies, including coronations. From that time until 1840, all Danish monarchs received their crowns in the chapel of Frederiksborg Palace.
The castle has established itself as a symbol of the absolute monarchy in Denmark, a monarchy that has never been interrupted.
During the war with Sweden in 1657-1659, the palace was seized and completely looted.
In 1659 work on the restoration of the palace began. They were completed only during the reign of Christian V. But not for a long time the castle and its inhabitants lived a quiet secular life: in 1665 there was a large fire that damaged many buildings of the castle. Again, many years were spent on restoration.
In the 1850s, the palace was used as the residence of King Frederick VII. About 90 fireplaces were being used to heat the palace by that time. On the night of December 16 to 17, 1859, while the king was asleep, a great fire happened in the palace because of one of the fireplaces and left Fredericksborg Castle almost in ruins. Only one of the chapel wings and the Audience House have survived. All the other buildings were destroyed, and many collections were turned to ashes.
Immediately after the fire, fundraising for the restoration of Fredericksborg was begun. Money was collected practically “from all over the world”: donations from individuals were accepted, Denmark has allocated funds, serious support was provided by the famous philanthropist, owner of the brewery Karlsberg-Jakov Jacobsen (I have already written about him). He financed the work on the condition that the palace would be turned into a museum, as he believed that Denmark should have a museum comparable to Versailles in France.
The central apartments of the castle were collected and restored piece by piece, the fire caused considerable damage, the restorers restored unique tapestries. The panels and ceilings are made of ivory and decorated in a way that looks the same today as it did before the fire. The king once and for all gave up the idea of living in the castle, and the fate of Frederiksborg was sealed.
The Neptune Fountain in the courtyard of Frederiksborg is a symbol, a symbol of a country that had almost unlimited power in the Baltic Sea in the 16th century. But the magnificent fountain is not the original.
It certainly wasn’t damaged in the fire, but was stolen, by the Swedes who captured the castle, back in 1660. An exact copy of the Danish symbol was erected by the Dutch architect Adrian de Vries.
Prince Joachim, youngest son of the present Queen Margrethe II of Denmark, and Princess Alexandra were married in the church of Frederiksborg Palace. The marriage, however, was not strong, and they soon enough separated. Eight days after the royal couple’s divorce, however, the Queen granted Alexandra the title of Countess of Fredericksborg.
That’s the end of the fairy tale, this fairy tale, and in general, it’s not all-a sequel to follow-a photo album with photos not included in the review.
And this is the exit to the city from the other side of the castle.
From Copenhagen to town Hellerød you can get by express suburban train S-train, under the letters “A” and “E”, it’s 30 minutes drive. From the station you can make a ten-minute walk or take a bus number 301 or 302, the bus stops near the castle. Entrance by “Copenhagen Card” is free. There are brochures in Russian.
✔️ Cashback 4% when booking at Ostrovok.ru . More than 3000 reviews.
✔️ Cashback of 2% when booking Rail Tickets on Yandex.Travel.
✔️ Cashback 4% when you book a car with Localrent . Cars from local rental agencies in popular resorts: Turkey, Crimea, Sochi, Georgia, UAE, Armenia and many others. Accept cards MIR.
✔️ Cashback 2% when booking Tours on Travelata .
✔️ Russian guides and excursions around the world. Transfers, photographers and more.
Frederiksborg Palace – a monument of Danish history and architecture
In the city of Hillerød, which lies not far from the Danish capital Copenhagen, there is a beautiful, unique, one might even say, a striking castle. Although, more correctly should be said, the palace. Its name – Frederiksborg.
Castle from bird’s-eye view
It is worth noting that the first castle was called otherwise – Hellerödsholm, in honor of the city where it was built. However, this architectural structure, dating back to 1560, has not survived to this day. It was in its place that the palace was built, which at the moment is of genuine interest to all connoisseurs of the world of beauty.
Naturally, during the construction of Frederiksborg, part of Hellerödsholm Castle was restored and many of its elements were used in the new building, but this refers to the history, which certainly deserves separate attention.
View of the castle from Lake Slotsön
Denmark has always been considered an amazing and fabulous country. On its territory there are quite a lot of sights, monuments of history and architecture, which are of interest not only to tourists from Europe, but also from all over the world. The traveler, which ways-roads have led to Denmark, in the suburbs of the capital of this country, it is worth knowing that the castle of Frederiksborg is part of the palace and park complex. The fact is that near the palace there are two more castles: Fredensborg, which was the royal residence and Helsingor Castle, yes, the famous one, which can also be called “Hamlet. All three architectural constructions are located on small islands of the picturesque lake. Surrounding them, of course, is a beautiful park, where back in the old days royalty liked to stroll.
Two castles and a luxurious palace if you want you can walk around in a day, but only if you do not pay attention to the smallest details: expensive services, beautiful furniture and paintings. Simply put, a day can only bypass all the rooms of the three castles. Many guides advise not to hurry and stop in a tiny town Helleröd: despite its size, it is also worth attention, which is only a small shopping center of the city, which in 1993 was recognized by a special commission as the most beautiful shopping center of the Old World.
Frederiksborg – history
As already mentioned above Fredericksborg Castle has its origins in 1560. That’s when King Frederik II bought the land on which the castle was built. However, the appearance in which it survived to this day, the castle acquired after restoration work in 1859.
To be precise – Frederiksborg Castle was built in 18 years (from 1602 to 1620). The palace was designed by two brothers Lorens and Hans van Steenwinkel, who were talented and well-known architects in Europe at that time.
The construction of Frederiksborg Castle was supervised by Christian IV, who made history with his rebuilds of buildings in Copenhagen in the luxurious style called the Dutch Renaissance. Fredericksborg Castle was also built in the same style. In 1648 the king, who was madly in love with Fredericksborg, named it after his father, passed away. From that moment until 1693, coronations of monarchs were permanently held in the castle. Since 1693 the knightly orders Dannebrog and Elephant held their meetings in the castle chapel. There is another important date connected with the magnificent palace: in 1720, the famous Treaty of Frederiksborg was signed within its walls. During the reign of Frederik VII in December 17, 1859 in the palace there was a huge fire. During it many premises of the castle were burnt to the ground.
The ceilings, damaged by fire, could not stand: the roof and luxurious spires of magnificent towers collapsed. To be fair, it is worth noting that the chapel, the meeting hall and the hall of receptions were untouched by the fire. In 1860, it was decided to restore one of the main attractions of Denmark.
The work is allocated funds from the country’s budget, but most of the costs are taken care of by Jacobsen, the brewer who founded the famous and one of the most popular nowadays brands of beer “Carlsberg”.
View of the palace from the park
Frederiksborg Palace nowadays
Special attention in Frederiksborg Palace deserves the main wing, which is decorated with magnificent marble arches and sculptures made by the best craftsmen of the time. It is fair to say that some of the statues are not original. The thing is that a fire in 1859 caused irreparable damage to the main wing, which is listed in tourist brochures as the “Royal Wing. You can experience all the luxury of the Renaissance style in the church, which was bypassed by the fire. It contains true works of art and priceless treasures, such as the main altar, made by a goldsmith of pure gold, trimmed with expensive ebony and, shimmering in the candlelight, with silver applications. The name of the goldsmith who created the unique altar in the church of Frederiksborg Palace has survived to this day. His name was Jacob Moras.
Even from the reign of Christian IV in the temple organs have survived and even function. By the way, if you visit the castle, which currently houses the National History Museum, on a Thursday, you can listen to a free concert of classical music in the church building. Works by J. Bach, J. Haydn, L. Beethoven sound from the pipes of organs performed by the best musicians in Europe. Speaking of Frederiksborg Castle, it is impossible not to remember the Fountain of Neptune, which opens the eyes of tourists in the outer courtyard of the palace.
Many might think that this fountain is a kind of ornament of the palace and park complex, but this is far from it. The Neptune Fountain in Frederiksborg is a symbol, a symbol of the country that had almost unlimited power in the Baltic Sea in the 16th century. Alas, the magnificent fountain is not an original either. It, of course, was not damaged in the fire, but was stolen by the Swedes, who captured the castle, back in 1660. An exact copy of the Danish symbol was built by Adrian de Vries, an architect from Holland.
Frederiksborg Castle – a tourist memo
From the Danish capital, Copenhagen, to the town of Hellerød, you can take the high-speed commuter train. These trains depart from the line under the letters “A” and “E”. The trip takes no more than 30 minutes. From the station to the castle you can take a ten-minute walk. If you have to save time, you can take a bus number 702, which takes you directly to one of the main attractions of Denmark.
The National History Museum room in the palace
Frederiksborg Castle is open during the “season,” which runs from April through October, from 10am to 5pm . In the winter months, the palace and park complex welcomes visitors only from 11.00 to 15.00. The cost of the ticket is symbolic – 60 crowns. This amount includes not only a visit to Fredericksborg, but also a walk in the park, visiting the “Hamlet” castle and the palace of Fredensborg. By the way, the park of Frederiksborg Palace is a unique and unforgettable spectacle. It was laid out in the Baroque style from 1720 to 1725.
The National History Museum room in the palace
A walk through it is sure to be remembered by the traveler for a lifetime: the cascade with fountains, water channels, monograms of the royal family consisting of flowering bushes and, of course, the magnificent Castle Lake – are an integral part of the entire architectural ensemble. The possibility of wandering through its alleys appeared only in 1996. Until 1993, the baroque garden, which was brought to life by Johan Cornelius Criger, was in decay: the Danish budget was not able to sustain the maintenance of the castle and its enormous park.
The National History Museum room in the palace
At the end of this material, I would like to add that a tourist visiting the palace, be sure to pay attention also to a small house, more correctly say – a hunting castle, which was built during the time of Frederick II.