Kungur city, Perm region, description and photo

Kungur city – the tea capital of Russia: history, sights, photos

Kungur, Perm region

Author of photos: Vladimir Kotikovsky

History of the city

Kungur was founded in the middle of the XVII century, it was named by the river Kungurka.

Thanks to a favorable location on the trade routes in the XVIII – XIX centuries, the city rapidly developed. The richness of the city is evident in the numerous fancy merchant houses, which survived until now. Thanks to this Kungur can be called a real open-air museum, and you can walk around it for a long time. The important thing is that Kungur is quite well organized as far as tourism is concerned: there is a map of sights.

You can find the map next to the “Pupu Zemlya” and then build your route in the city is easy, there are many good hotels, there are local souvenirs and local food. And also in Kungur there are very friendly clergymen: in local temples women don’t have to wear scarves and skirts at all, which, frankly speaking, amazed me a lot!

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of photos: Vladimir Kotikovsky

In the XIX century in the Urals were well known for many Kungur merchants, especially stand out among them A. Gubkin, M. Gribushin, A. Kuznetsov. They were successfully engaged in the tea trade. In the XIX century Kungur was even called the tea capital of Russia! Now representatives of the tourist industry say a lot about it. Kungur was included in the tourist route “The Great Tea Road”.

Attractions of Kungur

Kungur has the status of a historical city of Russia. And indeed there are many valuable monuments of history and architecture. In addition, there are four interesting museums! Consider the most interesting sights of Kungur.

Kungur Cave

Kungurskaya Ice Cave, Perm Region

The Kungur ice cave is one of the most famous and popular tourist attractions in the Urals . One of the main “visiting cards” of our region. No other Russian cave has such a rich history and is not as famous as the Kungur cave. Although next to the Kungur ice cave there is a very interesting Ordinskaya cave, as well as many other karst formations.


In 2011, the authoritative website Forbes selected the ten most impressive caves in the world. From Russia the list included only one – Kungurskaya.

Tikhvin Church

Tikhvin’s Church was built on the hill above the Sylva River on the site of the defunct nunnery in 1758-65, and rebuilt in 1882-84. On the building of this church for the first time in Kungur was applied beetle ornament. At the same time in the 1880s, at the expense of the merchant Gubkin’s funds by the architect AB Turchhevicha was built a magnificent three-tiered bell tower in the Gothic style, the height of about 70 meters. From this bell tower there is an excellent panoramic view of the city. It is possible to climb the bell tower.

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of photos: Vladimir Kotikovsky

The main relic of the temple is the miracle-working icon of Our Lady of Tikhvin, which, according to legend, saved Kungur from being seized by the Pugachevites. There are many other revered icons in the temple, if you go to the temple, ask to have an excursion, for this purpose there are several female guides on duty in the temple. Currently, the church is active. It is a monument of architecture of federal significance. The church is located at: Sitnikov street 52.

Spanish Valencia: the city through the eyes of a Russian tourist

Church of the Transfiguration.

Church of Transfiguration with a 36-meter bell tower was built in 1768-82 years. Construction was started with funds of the merchant I. Khlebnikov, who died in 1774 in a battle with the army of E. Pugachev. At the present time it is the only temple of the Kungur area with “crossed” five-domed. The existing temple. It has the status of a monument of architecture of the federal importance. Church of Transfiguration of the Savior is located in Ulitsa Uralskaya, 6 on the low bank of the river Sylva opposite the city center.


Nikolskaya church

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of the photo: Vladimir Kotikovsky

This five-domed stone church was built in 1894-1917 according to the project of the architect A.B. Turchhevich over the grave of a famous tea merchant A.S. Gubkin on the money of his heir A.G. Kuznetsov. Erected in Byzantine style. Now the church is active. Architectural monument of regional importance. Located on 5 Gogol Street. The temple is stunningly beautiful red iconostasis and a lot of materials on the history of the temple and the history of its restoration. The restoration work continues.

Ensemble of the Convent of St. John the Baptist

This monastery was founded in Kungur in the middle of the XIX century. In 1903-1914 was built here a stone Church of St. John the Baptist. During Soviet times, the monastery was closed. For a long time in the monastery buildings worked prison. Traces of that stay can still be seen today: barbed wire can be seen on the walls surrounding the monastery. Fortunately, the entire complex has been turned over to the faithful and is slowly being restored. It is located at the intersection of Gogol and Krasnaya streets.

Church of the Assumption

Built in 1761-65, then rebuilt in the second half of the XIX century. Church of the Assumption was the most spacious and richly decorated in the city. In Soviet times it was closed, and now work is being done to restore it, and although there is still construction debris around the temple, the church looks amazingly ornate. Architectural monument of regional significance. Located at: Lenina Street, 38a.

Gostiny Dvor

Gostiny Dvor was built in 1865-76. This is the main symbol of the merchant Kungur. Gostiny Dvor is a closed polygonal building with beveled corners. On its perimeter were rows of shops and warehouses. Outside the building – covered gallery. It is currently closed and is awaiting a change of status when it is transferred from private to public ownership and reconstruction begins.


On the southern facade is installed commemorative metal plaque with relief text: “This building was laid July 4, 1865 the head of the city Andrew Gr. Pilikin”.

It has the status of federal monument of architecture. It is situated in the center of Kungur on Pugachev Square.

Museum of Merchant History

In Kungur is also a Small Gostiny Dvor. It was built on the money of the merchant and tea merchant M. Gribushin in 1874. Now in its premises operates the Museum of Merchant History. Surprisingly hearty museum and its guides are very friendly.

Visitors of the museum will get acquainted with the history of the Siberian tract, leather and footwear business, tea trade, learn about Kungur merchants and their charity. Costume events with tea drinking are also held here. Address: 38 Gogol Street.

Murcia - the sights of the Spanish city.

Town Council

This is the oldest civilian building of the city of Kungur, built in the Urals baroque style in 1758-62 years. It is an architectural monument of the federal importance. In the building there is a museum of local history. There are several halls and some quite unique exhibits.

Visiting the museum, you can learn about the past Kungur, his siege of the army Pugachev, K.T. Khlebnikov and the books bequeathed him to the city, as well as the karst Kungur area. Located at 36 Gogolya Street.


Art Museum

Located since 2006 in the house of G.I. Yukhnev, built in the 1890s. In the museum displays pictures of Russian artists XX century, artistic ceramics, articles of stone, products Kungurskaya artel. In addition, the museum has an exposition devoted to the Heavenly Fair.

Address: 21 Oktyabrskaya Street.

Gribushin’s mansion.

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of the photo: Vladimir Kotikovsky

This two-storey mansion was built in 1860s. The building is remarkable for its rich Art Nouveau stucco decoration (stucco decoration was made at the beginning of XX century). At the moment this building is a maternity hospital. The building is located on 16 Karl Marx str.

Dubinin Manor

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of the photo: Vladimir Kotikovsky

Built in 1878-83 by merchant E.Y. Dubinin. It is a wonderful example of large estate complex of the second half of XIX century. It is interesting to note the Dubinininskaya cave used to stand on the estate territory of the estate, but in 1880s the entrance to it was filled up. It is an architectural monument of regional importance. The building is now the seat of the City Administration and the City Council. The building is located at 26 Sovetskaya street.

Kuznetsov’s mansion

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of the photo: Vladimir Kotikovsky

Two-storeyed house with a mezzanine was built by a famous merchant and benefactor G.K. Kuznetsov in 1863-70. It is topped by a scalloped pediment with a preserved image of a heraldic shield with a crown.

Before the revolution it was considered the most expensive building in the city. Residents called it “Kuznetsovsky Palace”. Nowadays it housed various city services. It is located on Karl Marx street 27.

Gribushin tea-weaving factory

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of the photo: Vladimir Kotikovsky

The stone two-story building of the factory was built by Gribushin, a merchant and tea merchant in the 1870s. The initials of the merchant (“MIG”) and the six-pointed “Bethlehem” star above them have been preserved on the building. Address: 35 Karla Marksa Street.

St. Michael Antonino-Kirillov orphanage

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of the photo: Vladimir Kotikovsky

The orphanage for orphans and children from poor families was built on money of the merchant M.I.Gribushin in 1886-1891. The peculiarity of this building is given by the house church. By the way, under it – the crypt of the Gribushin family. Here are buried Mikhail Ivanovich Gribushin, his wife and children. Surveyed the crypt in 1998, archaeologists found under the piles of garbage four ruined graves. Now there is a school in the building. In 2006, there is a museum of Gribushin family there. The house is located at 116 Svobody Street.

Sylvensky bridge

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of the photo: Vladimir Kotikovsky

Saint-Emilion is a city in France

This bridge of original design was built in 1932 and has no analogues in the Urals. The road across the river Sylva runs across it. According to the legend bridge construction got to Kungur by accident on the railroad.


Obelisk in honor of the defenders of Kungur from the Pugachev’s troops

This is the first monument in Kungur. It was unveiled on Sobornaya Square in 1893, and the idea of the monument appeared during the celebration of the 100th anniversary of the withdrawal of the Pugachev army siege from Kungur. The monument is made of gray marble.

During the Soviet times the monument was given a red star and its meaning was distorted exactly in the opposite way. The monument was restored to its original look in 2000.

Monument to the Pioneers of the Kungur area

The monument to the people, who explored this place in XVII century, was unveiled on the bank of the river Sylva in 1991. It is a rectangular column, which is crowned with a figure of a rook Ermak.


The navel of the Earth

This small architectural form is considered to be one of the most unusual in the Kama region . The original monument was installed in 2007 on the city viewing platform. Seven roads converge here: five automobile and pedestrian and two waterways. The monument looks like a granite hemisphere on a pedestal, oriented to the sides of the world. It is believed that if you touch the “navel” and make a wish, it will come true.


Another interesting monument was unveiled in 2009 in the park of balloonists at the intersection of Gogol Street and Oktyabrskaya Street. The legend says that Nikita was the first Russian baloonist who constructed a kind of wings. He jumped off the bell tower in Vladimir and flew, landing unharmed. But flying cost him his life: by order of Ivan the Terrible the boy was executed, for a man should not fly. For 10 years a peculiar ritual has formed around the monument – you should rub the heel of your backward leg and make a wish silently, then it will come true. By the way, the monument is the work of the sculptor Zalazayev. Sculptor Alexei Zalazayev

Monument to the merchant Gubkin

The city Kungur, Perm krai

Author of the photo: Vladimir Kotikovsky

It was installed in the park near the Local Lore Museum (corner of Gogol Street and Sovetskaya Street) in 2007 in memory of the Kungur Merchant and the honorary citizen of the city Alexey Gubkin. Thus for the first time the idea to put a monument to Gubkin appeared in 1915, but realized it only in our time.

Samovar Monument

There is a monument to the samovar in Kungur (how could it be without it in the tea capital of Russia?!). It appeared in the city in 2009 in front of the School of Arts. The top of the samovar is crowned with a teapot, and under the tap there is a tea mug with a saucer.


Heavenly Fair

Ural Sky Fair

Kungur is one of the main centers of tourism development in the Perm region. Every year in early July Kungur hosts a major aeronautics festival “Sky Fair” .

What presents to bring from Kungur?

Fortunately, Kungur is good with gifts and souvenirs: you can buy them in the tourist-information center and in the pottery shop. These are, above all, Kungur ceramics.

Events and attractions in Manarola.


Well and do not forget that in Kungur there are wonderful gingerbread, the Elm family. They do not get stale for a long time and are very elegant. Elm gingerbread from Kungur

What to see nearby?

In Kungur and its surroundings karst phenomena are strongly developed. There are many interesting caves in the Kungur area. In addition to seeing the sights of Kungur and visiting Kungurskaya cave, you can also go to Babinogorskaya cave and the stone Ermak. You can also visit Belogorsky monastery. Belogorsky monastery near Kungur: description, how to get there, photos

Ermak Stone, Perm TerritoryHow to reach Kungur?

Kungur is located 95 kilometers southeast of Perm. The federal highway Yekaterinburg – Perm passes through it, as well as the Trans-Siberian Railway. So you can easily get here by car, bus from Perm or Yekaterinburg, train or train.

Walking in Kungur

In Kungur most tourists go for the famous cave. In the next story we will also necessarily look at it. But now I suggest you to get acquainted with the city of Kungur, which year of foundation is considered to be 1663. We’ll start our walk in the city from the Sobornaya Square. In early May preparations for one of the major holidays in our country – Victory Day – were already going on here.

In 1876 the Gostiny Dvor was built here. This was the main store of Kungur, a two-story building consists of four buildings, united by a covered gallery. In 1872, on the background of the Gostiny Dvor were filming scenes of the Irbit Fair for the film “Privalovskie million”. Now the building is completely abandoned.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

As can be easily guessed, the square was called Sobornaya, because there was a cathedral, or rather two of them. The first, in honor of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin, was built in 1704. In 1915, built another cathedral in the name of the Epiphany. In 1939, both were blown up. Of these survived only the Church of Alexis, Metropolitan of Moscow, built in 1886.

Nearby is an obelisk related to the Kungur peasant uprising in 1703 and the peasant war led by Yemelyan Pugachev.

After walking a little further, we’ll come to the embankment of the Sylva River, which flows into the Kama.

Here is a tourist attraction that almost every city has – the navel of the earth. Usually it is just a half-sphere rolled up in asphalt. Kungur went further and erected such a construction above the centre of the Earth. It is 1750 kilometers away from Moscow.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

Here is a monument to the pioneers of the Perm region.

A little further is the bridge across Sylva, which is simply called Sylvensky. Sylva in translation from the Permian Komi means “thawing water”. A wooden bridge across the Sylva was built only when the water was low in the summer and autumn, in the spring a ferry and a boat crossing worked. The permanent road bridge was built only in 1932.

Object of cultural heritage of regional importance is the Church of the Assumption, built on the money of the merchant I. M. Khlebnikov on the site of a burnt wooden church. During the Soviet era, it housed a chauffeurs’ school, and later – a children’s sports school. In 2014 the church was returned to the faithful.

Orleans: the sights of France

Kungur’s past could be told about by the Local History Museum and the Museum of Merchant History. However, this year our President made working days in May as holidays. So we managed to see only the outside. The buildings themselves are architectural monuments. Local history museum is located in the building of the Town Council, the Museum of Merchant History is in the building of the Small Gostiny Dvor.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

In general, many different mansions have survived in Kungur. For example, the mansion of the merchant-manufakturist Scherbakov, which now houses the Museum of the History of Merchants.

Opposite this mansion is a monument to another merchant, an honorary resident of Kungur, A. S. Gubkin. He was called the “tea king”. At first he traded with tea plantations in China, and then bought some of them as property.

That’s why this samovar is also installed here.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

Another former merchant’s mansion is the Dubinin Mansion. Now here is located the Kungur city council.

Behind this mansion towers the bell tower of the Tikhvin Church. You can climb the bell tower for free, and voluntary donations are welcome.

At the top you can ring the bells.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

And enjoy a bird’s eye view of the surroundings.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

Since 2002, every year the International Aeronautics Festival Celestial Fair takes place in Kungur. It was not held only last year – Kovid. Aerostats, hang-gliders, paragliders, paragliders and other flying machines from all over Russia take part in the festival. The sculpture of Nikitka the Flyer is dedicated to sky conquerors, installed in the public garden of balloonists.

On the pedestal you can see plaques honoring participants from different years of the festival.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

At the end of our walk around Kungur we’ll go to the Museum of karst and speleology, which is located near the Kungurskaya cave. Actually it was not supposed to be open on these days, but I was lucky, the museum was open.

As it is easy to guess, the museum displays various minerals, both found in the Kungurskaya Ice Cave, and around the world. For example, selenites – a fibrous gypsum, consisting of thin needle-shaped tightly closed crystals.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

The gypsums themselves are very widespread and are characterized by a variety of coloring forms and sizes of crystals.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

Some more beautiful minerals are chromamesite, amazonite, aragonite, and charoite.

Sightseeing tour in Kungur

That’s all I wanted to tell you about the town of Kungur. This nice merchant town turned out to be quite interesting. In the next story we will walk around the Kungur ice cave.

  1. Back Land.
  2. Perm Zoo
  3. The Gulag was here
  4. A Walk Around Kungur
  5. The beauties of the underground world
  6. Salty Coast
  7. Park of Chusovaya River history
  8. This is how salt was produced
  9. Kamskaya Salt

Useful Links:

✔️ Cashback 4% when you book at Ostrovok.ru . Over 3000 reviews.

✔️ Cashback of 2% when booking Rail Tickets on Yandex.Travel.

✔️ Cashback 4% when you book a car with Localrent. Cars from local rental agencies in popular resorts: Turkey, Crimea, Sochi, Georgia, UAE, Armenia and many others. Accept cards MIR.

✔️ Cashback 2% when booking Tours on Travelata .

✔️ Russian guides and excursions around the world. Transfers, photographers services and much more.

( No ratings yet )
Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Free Travels And Tours
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: