Charing Cross Road
Charing Cross Road is a real street in London, England, with the front of the Hole Cauldron Bar. It is mentioned in passing in the seventh book. Although the bar is on a Muggle street, wizards can walk through the bar from the Muggle world and, by opening an archway, enter the Slanted Lane.
Charing Cross Road begins north of Totenham Court Road (the intersection with Oxford Street) and ends at Trafalgar Square. In total its length is about 1 km. “Hole Cauldron” was located on a stretch of about 600 m, between Leicester Square Station and Totenham Court Road. There was also the Charing Cross Books store and the Circle (“Circle”). The latter was located on Charing Cross Road near the Hole Cauldron, across the street from Leicester Square Station. , at least until 1997. 
Death Eaters flying down Charing Cross Road and kidnapping Ollivander in 1996 (movie).
On the day of his birthday, July 31, 1991, Harry Potter and his entourage, Rubeus Hagrid, went to Slanted Lane to buy everything they needed for their first school year. They left the subway station (apparently Leicester Square Station ) and walked down Charing Cross Road to the Hole Cauldron. 
In 1993, Harry went to the Hole Cauldron on the Night Knight Bus, where he met Minister of Magic Cornelius Fudge. Harry stayed in room #11 he rented for the rest of the summer, and on the last day, just before the new school year began, Ron Weasley, Hermione Granger, and most of the Weasley family, who had returned home from their trip to Egypt, like Harry, also stayed the night at the Hole Cauldron.
In 1996, Harry, Hermione, and Ron Weasley walked through the Hagrid’s Hole Cauldron into Slanted Lane under Rubeus Hagrid’s guard. Harry noticed that there were very few customers in the bar. In the summer of that year, the Death Eaters flew through London to kidnap wizard Ollivander on behalf of Voldemort (at least according to the movie).
In 1998, Harry, Hermione, Ron, and the goblin Hookwolf transgressed into Charing Cross Road and walked quickly through the Hole Cauldron, heading for Gringotts Bank to rob Bellatrix Lestrange’s safe. Harry noticed that the Muggles wandering down the street still failed to notice the entrance to the “tiny cauldron” 
Behind the scenes.
In April 2013, Little Brown published The Cuckoo’s Calling, the debut detective novel by author Robert Galbraith. However, it later turned out that Joan Rowling was hiding under this pseudonym. In June 2014 the second book was released – the novel “Silkworm”, which immediately hit the UK bestseller lists. The heroes of the new novel, like the previous one, are a private detective Cormoran Strike and his assistant Robin Ellacott.
It is noteworthy that the protagonist of the novels Cormoran Strike had his office on Charing Cross Road in London, and in the latest novel and lived in an apartment on that street.
- Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (First Appearance)
- Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (movie)
- Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (game) (Mention only)
- Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
- Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (movie)
- Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
- Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (film)
- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
- LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4
- LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
- Wizarding World
Wizarding on Charing Cross Road near the Charing Cross Books store, which is across the street from the Hole Cauldron.
The intersection of the main streets of Charing Cross
Charing Cross is the centerpiece of the Westminster neighborhood. London in its spirit, the street between Trafalgar Square and Whitehall is the point of reference for the distance from London.
One of London’s phenomenal structures in terms of construction is the Hungerford Bridge over the Thames, better known as Charing Cross Bridge . Charing Cross is also the name of the train station, street and tube station in the Westminster district of London.
Golden Jubilee Bridge
The modern Hungerford Bridge successfully combines the Charing Cross Bridge’s fundamental railroad structure with two cable-stayed footbridges called the Golden Jubilee Bridges. The first suspension bridge was designed by architect Isambard Kingdom Brunel to serve Hangerford Market on the north bank of the Thames. The first suspension bridge opened in 1845, and as early as 1859 it was bought by the railroad company for an extension of the Southeastern Railway. It was later replaced by the truss railroad bridge that exists today. Passageways are added on both sides of the bridge for pedestrians.
From the earliest days, the appearance of the structure was criticized on all sides, despite the fact that Claude Monet depicted the Charing Cross Bridge many times in his paintings. He created an entire cycle of images of 37 paintings dedicated to the bridge. Collections of his works from this cycle are scattered throughout museums around the world. The bridge’s existence was the subject of controversy from authorities and architects, but it managed to hold up even during a bombing raid in 1941.
A work by Claude Monet depicting the Charing Cross Bridge was stolen from an art museum in Rotterdam. The picture was created by the great impressionist in 1901. The canvas has not yet been found.
For many years the only way to get to the south bank of the Thames was to walk along a narrow passageway past trains whizzing by. In 2003 new crosswalks were built with wide slabs connected by metal cables to supporting masts. The construction cost almost 40 million pounds, but the result justified all the expenses.
London gained two unique pedestrian bridges with excellent two-way visibility. It is a very popular place among tourists and residents of London, both during the day and in the light of night illumination. There are elevators on both sides of the bridge. On the south bank is the Royal Festival Hall, many stores, pubs and restaurants. At the north end of the bridge is the renovated Charing Cross Station.
Charing Cross Railway Station
Charing Cross Station is a central point in London and one of its main rail terminals. All trains are operated by the Southeast Line. The station opened in 1864. The railway station was built on the site of the former Newbury Market. The facade of the building is decorated in the spirit of the French Victorian Renaissance.
The name Charing Cross comes from one of the twelve Eleanor Memorial Crosses, which was erected by order of Edward I near the village of Charing. The cross was demolished by a decree of Parliament during the struggle against obscurants, and in 1675 a monument to Charles I was erected in its place. Next to it was a pole of shame, where criminals were flogged in full view of everyone. The memorial cross was recreated in 2010.
London’s Charing Cross carries 42 million passengers a year. In April 2014, a celebration was held to celebrate the station’s 150th anniversary.
Charing Cross has had to be rebuilt more than once. In 1905, the roof collapsed, and during World War II the structure suffered from bombing. Currently, the station complex is equipped in the style of postmodernism. Nearby is Charing Cross Road, which is famous for its bookstores.
What’s on Charing Cross Road
Charing Cross is a major intersection that is the “zero point of reference” for distances from London. London Stone and St Mary-le-Bow Church were once of central importance. Nearly all of London’s bus lines begin and end at this location. Charing Cross Road is the road leading from Trafalgar Square to Oxford Street, and is London’s busiest street and thoroughfare with a huge number of stores and restaurants. From here you have easy access to Covent Garden and Piccadilly Square.
Charing Cross Road is considered a book-lover’s paradise. From large and fairly well-known bookstores to small antique booksellers, everything is there for bibliophiles and readers, for all tastes and preferences.
In 1554, Charing Cross was the site of the last battle of Thomas Wyatt’s rebellion and the rebels’ attempt to overthrow Queen Mary I of England.
The National Portrait Gallery, the Theatre Museum, and the Museum of Transportation are all located on Charing Cross Road. All are located within walking distance. Big Ben and Westminster Abbey are not far at all. To the right of Charing Cross, in the Strand is the Adelphi Theatre, the famous Savoy Hotel (there was a palace on its site in the 13th century) and the Royal Theatre. At the Stanley Gibbons Trading House you can see a unique collection of stamps from around the world.
Charing Cross Road is also a place for culinary gourmets, who are offered a large selection of restaurants and cafes with various national cuisines. Lots of fast food establishments, but you should know that there are two great places nearby – Green Park and St. James Park. St Jamess Park has a rustic cafe that offers ready-made picnic kits.
You can walk around on your own, but it’s much more interesting to learn about cultural history with the help of a guide. A Russian-speaking guide will tell all the secrets of every corner of Charing Cross in London and tell you many stories from which you will learn:
- The site of the first auction house, Christie’s, the oldest and largest auction house in the world.
- The extraordinary stories of London’s pubs.
- Where the only surviving B. Franklin house is located.
- The story of a genius artist, cut off from the world for the rest of his life.
- The reason Oscar Wilde began to write comedies.
- The story of the brilliant Mozart’s London tour when he was 8 years old.
- The story of the luxurious life of one of the King’s favorites.
The price depends on the number of people in the group.