Novogolutvinsky Monastery in Kolomna: all information

Holy Trinity Novo-Golutvin Nunnery in Kolomna

Novo-Golutvin Holy Trinity Convent in Kolomna is located on the territory of Kolomna Kremlin and is an object of cultural heritage of federal significance.

Despite its name, Novogolutvinsky nunnery is located in the historic center of Kolomna, bearing the name “Old Kolomna”, rather than in the remote area of Golutvin. The monastery is located on the territory of the Kolomna Kremlin, the most famous landmark of the city near Moscow.

Also near the monastery is the confluence of the Kolomna and Moscow rivers. Another landmark is the newly built Skating Center, located on the Kolomanka embankment.

History of the nunnery

The monastery was founded at the turn of the XVIII and XIX centuries, but some of its buildings are much older. The thing is that the men’s monastery was organized on the place of bishop’s house of the Kolomensky diocese, abolished by Decree of Emperor Paul I. From the House of Bishops the monastery inherited the chambers of the Bishop’s building (XVII century) and the Trinity Cathedral (early XVIII century). It is interesting that Count A. Arakcheyev planned to place on the place of the monastery a stable of cuirassier regiment. However, Metropolitan Platon managed to outrun Arakcheev and transferred to the territory of the monastery a part of the brethren from the Stagogolutvinsky Bogoyavlensky Monastery.

Like other monasteries, Novogolutvinsky monastery suffered immediately after the revolution. The monastery was closed, all church property was nationalized, and the monks and novices were left homeless. However, Trinity cathedral continued its work and received the faithful until 1928.

During the Civil war there was a hospital for the wounded and a concentration camp for the regime’s enemies.

Later the buildings of the former monastery were settled by residents or occupied by different organizations, from the “Glavmuseum” to a sewing and repairing factory. Real work on the preservation of heritage began in the 70s, when most of the buildings of the former monastery were restored. For this purpose people living there were gradually evicted from the territory of the monastery.

In 1989 the territory was given back to the Russian Orthodox Church and it was decided to turn it back into a nunnery. Abbess Ksenia (Zaytseva) was appointed abbess of the monastery.

The nunnery nowadays

Now the monastery buildings include 3 churches:

  • The historic Trinity Cathedral and the Church of the Intercession;
  • The newly-built Church of St. Xenia of Petersburg.

Also a chapel named after prince Vladimir is built on the territory of the monastery. All in all about 80 nuns and novices from Russia and the former Soviet Union live in the convent.

READ
Monasteries of Meteora, points of interest in Greece

Since 1997 the medical center where nuns, professional doctors in their secular life, receive the suffering people, started to work in the nunnery. Each year about 3,000 guests of the monastery use the services of the medical center.

Novogolutvin Monastery is a modern type of monastery where the nuns and novices do not fence themselves off from the world. The sisters themselves organize excursions for those who wish, and are guides. There is a dog kennel “Convent” at the monastery, where the nuns breed rare breeds of sheepdogs. Another highlight of the monastery is a camel Sinai, which was presented to the sisters by cosmonaut V. Tereshkova.

How to get to the Novo-Golutvino Monastery

The proximity of Kolomna to Moscow allows the tourist to visit the monastery quite easily.

By private transport: you need to leave the capital and move along the Novolazanskoye highway to the village Nikulskoe, where at the junction turn right towards Kolomna. After entering the city, you should move along Moskovskaya Street, passing into the street of the October Revolution. After passing the bridge over the Kolomna River, enter the center of the city and turn left near the Kolomna Kremlin onto Lazarev Street. After passing the walls of the Kremlin for 100 meters you will reach the entrance to the monastery.

From Moscow by bus: the capital and Kolomna connects route number 460. The place of departure – the bus station “Kotelniki”, the travel time – about one and a half hours. Upon arrival in Kolomna you should get off at the stop “Two Revolutions Square” and walk through the Kolomna Kremlin along Lazhechnikova Street to the monastery.

The second option by public transport: it is a trip by train to the railway station “Golutvin”. Electric trains in the direction of Kolomna depart from the Kazan railway station on the routes Moscow – Kolomna and Moscow – Ryazan. Travel time is about 2 hours. Upon arrival at the railway station, you should walk to the stop “Golutvin”, located on the side of Oktyabrskaya Revolution Street, close to the station. Then you need to take any of the buses or minibuses and go to the stops “Two revolutions square” or “Station Staraya Kolomna. After getting off the bus, you should move towards the Kolomna Kremlin, where the Novogolutvin Monastery is located.

Address and contact information

The exact address of the Novogolutvinsky Monastery: town of Kolomna, Staraya Kolomna district, Lazarev Street, 11A. The monastery receives pilgrims and guests daily from 07:00 to 20:00.

  • the e-mail address is info@novogolutvin.ru;
  • Kolomna area code – 261 (for Moscow region), 09661 (for other subjects of the Russian Federation);
  • ordering tours – 4-75-07 (Nun Matrona);
  • office – 2-07-07 (tel/fax);
  • +7-916-816-72-25 (nun Maria), +7-916-506-49-39 (nun Athanasia).
READ
Novospassky monastery in Moscow

Now Novogolutvinsky Monastery in Kolomna is not just one of the many monasteries of the Moscow region, but also an important cultural and religious center. Thanks largely to this, the monastery has been repeatedly visited by the highest dignitaries of the Russian Federation: from the current and former president to members of the government and deputies of the State Duma.

Novo-Golutvin Monastery

Novo-Golutvin Monastery

Novo-Golutvin Monastery is an Orthodox monastery founded in the 19th century on the territory of the former bishop’s house after the abolition of the Kolomna diocese in 1799 – inside the Kolomna Kremlin. The monastery, closed in the 1920s, was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church in April 1989 to create in it a women’s monastery. On its territory, almost all the monastic buildings of the 17th-19th centuries have survived, but they are in need of considerable repair. The Orthodox Medical Center of St. Blessed Ksenia of Petersburg was opened in the nunnery. Reception is conducted by nuns – professional doctors. There is a small hotel for pilgrims and a refectory. Tours around the monastery are conducted by the sisters themselves. On the territory of the monastery in the kennel “Convent” created by the nuns there is kept and bred a rare breed of Mongolian-Buryat dogs, as well as Central Asian sheepdogs. The attraction of the monastery is a camel Sinai, which was a gift from the cosmonauts. At the monastery courtyard, located 17 km from Kolomna, the sisters breed thoroughbred Vyatka horses brought from Udmurtia.

Contents

History [ edit ]

Novo-Golutvin Monastery

The monastery was founded in the nineteenth century on the territory of the former bishop’s house after the abolition of the Kolomna diocese in 1799 – inside the Kolomna Kremlin.

From 1350 to 1799 on the territory of the monastery there was a bishop’s residence, where bishops, archbishops, who ruled the eparchy of Kolomenskoye, lived.

The eparchy of Kolomenskoye was founded before 1350, after the Mongol invasion of Russia. It began during the reign of Ivan Danilovich Kalita (1328-1340), and later, during the reign of Simeon the Proud (1340-1353). It belonged to the 3rd class of dioceses and had 10 monasteries and 931 churches.

In 1655 Patriarch Macarius of Antioch stayed in Kolomna. From the letter of his secretary, the Syrian Paul of Aleppo, we learn how the bishop’s house looked in the 17th century.

READ
Alexander Monastery in Suzdal and its attractions

It is known that it was “very large and surrounded by a wooden wall; the cells, or rather the bishop’s palace, were built of fine stone and wood, and also hung (like churches)”. The Syrian admired the long wooden gallery, at a great height from the ground, by which the bishop passed to the cells from the south door of the church. He marveled at the masterful work of the Russian carpenters who built such warm winter quarters: “they are built of planed, solidly joined, wonderful wood and have doors, tightly fitted and carefully fitted, covered with felt and leather, so that not a single breath of wind can penetrate.

The parsonage was especially transformed at the end of the XVII century under Archbishop Nikita of Kolomenskoye and Kashira. He built all the main buildings of the present complex: the Hierarch’s House proper, the building of the Razryadnyi Prikaz and the Church of the Holy Trinity of the Cross. As early as in 1728 in Kolomna (according to the regulations of 1721) the foundation of a theological seminary was laid, which was finally constructed by Bishop Cyprian in 1739 on the territory of the archbishop’s residence. Its students were the children of the local white clergy. The best of them were sometimes sent to the Moscow seminary, and Bishop Gavriel (Kremenetsky) of Kolomna obliged them, upon finishing their Moscow course, to study in their native seminary. Among the students of the Kolomna seminary were the great saint Philaret Drozdov, Metropolitan of Moscow, and the publicist of the 1970s, N. Gilyarov-Platonov.

In 1799 Emperor Paul issued a decree stating that the bishop of Kolomenskoye, who administered churches in Tula, Moscow, and Ryazan provinces, should administer only the churches in Tula province. The Eparchy of Kolomna was abolished, and the bishop was transferred to Tula. In Kolomna the ancient bishop’s house was left, empty and without means of maintenance. In 1800, Metropolitan Platon of Moscow decided to transfer some of the brethren from the Monastery of the Epiphany, on the outskirts of Kolomna. Since that time the monastery, opened in the Kremlin, became known as the Novo-Golutvin Monastery, and the suburban monastery as the Staro-Golutvin Monastery.

Since the main church of the newly formed monastery was in honor of the Holy Trinity, the monastery was called the Holy Trinity Novo-Golutvin Monastery.

The fact that the monastery was assigned a 2nd class status, which allowed it to maintain up to 17 monks, and all abbots, beginning with the first – Varlaam, had the high rank of archimandrite, testifies to its status as a full-time monastery. To the monastery were assigned both cathedral churches: the Assumption and Tikhvin.

READ
Verkhoturye Monastery in the Sverdlovsk Region

Under Archimandrite Arseny (Koziorov) extensive construction work was done – he attached a brick church in the name of the Venerable Sergius of Radonezh (now the Intercession Church) to the northern end of the Bishop’s building. Probably at the same time the northern gate and the north-western tower of the fence were built, serving as an entrance to the temple from the Sobornaya square.

In 1825 Archimandrite Arseniy erected a 55-meter bell tower which was the second highest in Kolomna. The biggest bell weighed 259 poods and 32 pounds. In 1871 with the blessing of St. Innocent (Veniaminov), Metropolitan of Moscow and Kolomna, the monastery was converted from a staff monastery to a monastic one. Under Archimandrite Sergius (Sveshnikov), who ran the monastery from 1871 to 1883, the number of monks increased to 50.

The monastery, closed in the 1920’s, was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church in April 1989 to establish a women’s monastery. On its territory, almost all the monastic buildings of the 17th-19th centuries have survived, but they need significant repair.

In 1998 at the monastery built a stone chapel in honor of St. Blessed Xenia of Petersburg, painted by the sisters.

The large territory of the monastery is decorated with an orchard of apricots, which give abundant fruit, as well as growing apples, cherries and pears.

In 1997 in the monastery was opened a charity orthodox medical center where free of charge medical aid is rendered to population by the sisters of the monastery – certified specialists. In a year the sisters take up to 3 thousand patients.

In December 2003 the president of Russian Federation V. Putin visited the monastery. V. Putin, and in the summer of 2011 the monastery was visited by Russian president D. Medvedev.

Current state [ edit ]

The monastery is administered by Metropolitan Juvenaly (Poyarkov).

The abbess of the monastery is Abbess Xenia. On the territory of the monastery remained Trinity and Pokrovskaya churches, bell tower, stone chambers. On the ground floor of the Trinity Church is a temple in honor of St. Blessed Xenia of St. Petersburg. In 2002 there was a chapel with a spring built in honor of St. Prince Vladimir and Anastasia the Confessor.

Now more than 80 nuns and nuns from Russia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Belarus live in the monastery. For many years nuns from Holland, Finland, Hungary, and Poland have worked here and now serve in other places, some in their homeland.

READ
Taung Kalat Monastery in Myanmar, description and photos

The Orthodox Medical Center named after St. Blessed Xenia of Petersburg was opened in the monastery. Nuns, who are professional doctors, receive patients.

There is a small hotel for pilgrims and a refectory. Tours around the monastery are conducted by the sisters themselves.

On the territory of the monastery in the kennel “Convent” created by the nuns there is kept and bred a rare breed of Mongolian-Buryat dogs, as well as Central Asian sheepdogs. The attraction of the monastery is a camel Sinai, which was a gift from the cosmonauts. On the territory of the monastery courtyard, located 17 km from Kolomna, sisters raise thoroughbred Vyatka horses brought from Udmurtia. At the monastery there is a club of animal lovers. At the feast of Christmas the sisters harness horses and a camel for children’s rides.

In the monastery there are embroidery, icon painting, pottery and carpentry workshops, where the nuns work. Their hands made the iconostasis of the lower temple in honor of Blessed Xenia, woodcarving and mosaic of smalt in the chapel. The publishing business is mastered.

The sisters sing in the church choir, which has repeatedly traveled to concerts and worship in the Cathedral of Christ the Savior, to other churches of Moscow and other cities of Russia, and participated in the Saxon-Bohemian Festival in Germany in 2000.

The monastery runs an orphanage for orphaned boys, located in the village of Maloe Karasevo, 16 km from Kolomna. Sisters study at the Pedagogical Institute, the Timiryazev Academy and other universities.

The monastery has been visited more than once by Patriarch Alexy II.

In December 2003 the president of Russian Federation V. Putin visited the monastery. V. Putin, and in the summer of 2011 the monastery was visited by Russian president D. Medvedev.

Kolomna mayor V. I. Shuvalov, the world’s first woman cosmonaut Valentina Tereshkova, famous artists and cultural figures are the honorary guests of the monastery.

Temples [ edit ]

  • The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity (in the basement – the Church of St. Blessed Ksenia of Petersburg)
  • Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin
  • Chapel of St. Equal-to-the-Apostles Prince Vladimir and St. Almighty Mother of God Anastasia
  • Chapel of St. Blessed Ksenia of Petersburg and St. Blessed Matrona of Moscow

Holy shrines [ edit ]

In the monastery’s Pokrovsky Church are the revered shrines of the monastery – parts of relics:

Rating
( No ratings yet )
Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Free Travels And Tours
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: