Palace of Rumyantsev-Paskevich.
Rumyantsev-Paskevich Palace is the architectural monument of the 18th-19th centuries, the main symbol and attraction of the Belarusian city, the central object of the Gomel palace and park ensemble.
The name of the palace consists of the names of its former owners, famous military and statesmen: the first owner till 1834 was the Field-Marshal-General P. A. Rumyantsev, the second – the Russian commander I. F. Paskevich. For many years the residence hosted dignitaries, was a place for celebrations and a repository of private collections, and was repeatedly rebuilt, but remained inaccessible to the common people. Today, the Rumyantsev-Paskevich Palace has been turned into a museum: its magnificent interiors and fine art masterpieces are open to the public.
Rumyantsev-Paskevich Palace on google panorama:
Rumyantsev-Paskevich Palace Tour
The central part of the Rumyantsev-Paskevich Palace and the tower are open for a visit. Guests are shown the Hall of Columns, the Red Drawing Room, the Hall for solemn receptions with an art gallery, the White Drawing Room and all the exhibitions in these rooms.
Working hours are from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. on weekdays and from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on weekends. Monday is the day off. The last Tuesday of the month in the palace and the last Thursday in the tower – sanitary days.
Tickets cost: one ticket – from 12 Belarusian rubles, only tower – 2 rubles, only palace – from 5 rubles.
Exhibitions in the Rumyantsev-Paskevich Palace in Gomel tell about the famous owners, the history of the city, introduce the cultural heritage, art collections.
Interior of the tower:
On the first floor of the residence, where once there were exclusively ceremonial halls, you can see an exhibition of portraits of famous people of the Gomel region. The Red room recreates the atmosphere of a nobleman’s salon. The room is decorated with portraits of Russian emperors, furniture and interior items that belonged to the Paskevich family.
The main part of the exposition is on the second floor of the palace, where the living quarters used to be. In one of the rooms there is a reconstruction of a late 19th and early 20th century living room interior. Other rooms are decorated with thematic exhibitions of author dolls, glassware and metalware, hunting-related items, sacred objects, archaeological finds, etc.
The history of the Paskevich Palace in Gomel
П. A. Rumyantsev built his palace on the place of the wooden castle of Gomel starosta M. Chartoryisky, after Catherine II granted him the lands and allocated funds for the construction. It is considered that the project for Rumyantsev was created by an architect I. Starov, but it is possible that J. Felten and J. Alekseev helped him.
After his death the residence was inherited by his son, Nikolai Rumyantsev. He invited an English architect, J. Clarke, and rebuilt the palace. His younger brother S. P. Rumyantsev inherited the mansion. In 1834 he sold the property to the treasury.
In the same year the palace was bought by I. F. Paskevich. The new owner once again began to rebuild the complex. This time it was Adam Idzkowski, a Pole, who did the work. The architect greatly changed the original appearance of the building: built up the third floor of the northern wing, replaced the southern wing with a 32-meter clock tower, added a veranda to the facade overlooking the Sozh River, and installed statues.
Before the revolution Paskevich’s heirs – wife and son – were offered to sell the palace to the Rumyantsevs’ relatives, but they refused. Soon the property was nationalized and a local history museum was opened in the building.
The monument was damaged during the Great Patriotic War, but was restored. Since the 90s it was fully transferred to the museum.
The architectural style of the Palace of Rumyantsev-Paskevich is Russian classicism. Despite frequent alterations the appearance of the building has not lost its typical features. Symmetrical lines, porticos with columns, modest decor give the building stately solemnity.
The heart of the palace is the Hall of Columns. The two-storeyed room with excellent perspective is crowned with a dome, supplemented by 16 columns with Corinthian orders, arches and sculptures of seasons by sculptor V. Slobodchikov, busts of P. A. Rumyantsev-Zadunaysky and I. F. Paskevich.
Near the Hall of Columns is the second largest room of the main building – the dining room of Princes Paskevich. Also adjoining the main hall are the columned galleries that lead to the guest rooms – the Red and White Drawing Rooms. The White Room is connected with the tower of the palace; the Red Room is connected with the house church. In the tower, during Paskevich’s lifetime, the prince’s private chambers were located.
Nowadays the halls not only serve as exhibition spaces. The Column Hall is still used for receiving important guests and organizing important political meetings. The White Hall is a concert hall, where artists from Belarus and foreign countries perform.
The Red Hall panorama:
How to get there
The Rumyantsev-Paskevich Palace is situated on the bank of the river Sozh in the Gomel park in the very center of Minsk. From the nearest bus stop “Lenin Square” it is about a 5 minute walk to the building. Buses #3, 12, 12B, 17, 18, 18A, 27, 28, 34, and 39, marshrutkas #12, 17, 18, and 23 will help to get there.
Car owners can park at Lenin Square. Popular cab services like Yandex Go, Maxim and local services – Gomel, Troika, Boomerang etc. are at the disposal of the citizens and tourists.
Palace of Rumyantsev-Paskevich in Gomel, Belarus
Rumyantsev and Paskevich Palace is an architectural monument of the 18th-19th centuries in the style of early classicism, the main sight of the city of Gomel, the compositional center of the Gomel palace and park ensemble, which includes, in addition to the palace, the city park, the Peter and Paul Cathedral, the chapel-mausoleum.
History of the Rumyantsev-Paskevich Palace
History of the palace under the Rumyantsevs
Gomel Palace was built on the site of a wooden castle, which was built by the last Gomel headman Mikhail Frederick Czartoryski of the Czartoryski family.
On July 10, 1775 Catherine the Great granted the Gomel starostvo to count Peter Alexandrovich Rumyantsev and allocated money from the treasury for the construction of the count’s palace in Gomel.
Work on the project of the palace began in 1777, construction began in 1785 and was completed in 1794. The author of the project was probably Ivan Starov, famous for the construction of the Taurida Palace and the Trinity Cathedral of the Alexander Nevsky Lavra. The architect Yuri Felten, a pupil of Rastrelli, is also said to be among the authors of the project. The process of erecting the palace was managed by the architect Ya.N.Alekseev and advised by Karl Blank.
One of the sources of inspiration for the architects was the Villa Rotonda of the famous Italian architect Andrea Palladio.
The palace he built was one of the earliest examples of Russian Palladianism. It was a compact two-storey building on a high base, topped by a cube-like belvedere in the center. A square hall with a dome was the compositional center of the palace.
The external decor of the palace was entirely made in the style of early classicism. The main decoration of the facades was the porticoes of the Corinthian order – a four-column parade porch and a six-column park porch. Along the entire perimeter of the building, the rectangular window openings, placed in two rows, alternated with pilasters, which gave the palace a majestic monumentality.
The upper first floor had only formal rooms, the first floor had living rooms, and the basement was used for household needs and servants’ quarters.
After Rumyantsev died the palace was inherited by his son, the famous diplomat, statesman and philanthropist Nikolai Rumyantsev.
Nikolai Rumyantsev invited the architect John Clarke from England, who lived and worked in Gomel from 1800 to 1826. Clarke not only rebuilt Rumyantsev’s palace, but also designed the Peter and Paul Cathedral, St. Nicholas Church in Volotovo and the first Lancastrian school in Russia.
During the redesign and reconstruction of the palace between 1800 and 1805, Clarke linked the service wings to the main building with galleries adorned with Ionic order porticoes.
Nikolai Rumyantsev kept in the palace a rich collection of books, which after his death became the basis for the creation of the Russian State Library in Moscow.
In 1826 Nikolay Rumyantsev died, and the palace was passed to his second son, Sergey Petrovich Rumyantsev, who pawned the palace in 1828, and in 1834 sold it to the treasury.
Description of the history of the palace under the Paskevich family
In 1834 the Gomel palace was purchased by the famous Russian commander I. Paskevich for 800 thousand rubles. Under his leadership in 1837-1851, under the Polish architect Adam Idzkowski, the palace was reconstructed and a splendid park was laid out.
Idzkowski began reconstructing the palace from the wings. In the north wing, the third floor was added, the internal layout was changed, the Ionic porches were removed from the facade. The south wing of the palace was torn down to the ground – in its place Idzkowski built a four-storey tower (1850-1851). The tower was 32 m high and had a clock mechanism on the top floor, as well as a veranda with a balcony. This building, which somewhat stands out from the general architecture of the building, was created as Paskevich’s personal residence. It housed the owner’s library and a rich collection of works of art.
Idzkowski also made changes to the architecture of the main building: the semi-circular windows of the belvedere were redesigned, the pediment of the seven-column portico overlooking the Sozh River was changed. In addition, he added a veranda to this facade. During the reconstruction, the statues were installed on the eaves of the main palace building and galleries.
The Italian architect Vincenzo Vincenti supervised the decoration of the palace interiors.
Between 1842-1922 on the terrace of the palace grounds was a monument to Duke Jozef Poniatowski by Bertil Thorvaldsen, intended for Warsaw, which Paskevich removed from the Modlin fortress. In 1921 after the Treaty of Riga that provided for the return of the cultural treasures that had been taken away from Poland after 1772, the monument was returned to Warsaw.
The last owners of the manor were the son of Field Marshal Feodor Paskevich and his wife Irina. After the refusal of the offer of Count Andrey Vasilievich Ruban, the son of a relative of the Rumyantsevs, to purchase the palace for 150 million rubles [source not mentioned 2506 days] the palace was confiscated by the revolution and its collections became the basis for the Gomel Regional Museum created in 1919 and Irina Paskevich was moved to a small apartment.
Gomel Palace Museum inside today
Damaged during the Great Patriotic War, the palace was restored after the victory and the museum and the Palace of Pioneers were placed there. In the second half of the 1990s it was completely turned over to the museum.
In 1995, it was decided to carry out restoration work, which resulted in the recreation of the interior rooms of the palace of the XVIII-XIX centuries.
In 1996 a monument to Nikolai Rumyantsev, created by sculptor Nikolai Ryzhenkov, was unveiled in the park opposite the palace. The monument depicts Rumyantsev with the plan of the city reconstruction, on which the future Peter and Paul Cathedral is marked with a cross. The monument is decorated with the coat of arms of Rumyantsev family with the motto “Not only with weapons”.
In January 2007, six antique sculptures, which appeared after the reconstruction of the palace under Ivan Paskevich, carried out by Adam Idzkovsky, were installed in the pediment of the palace; they were removed in January 1856 by order of Fyodor Paskevich, and then disappeared during the wars. The sculptures of Euripides, Aphrodite, Athena, Ares, Nymph and Bacchus are made of marble chips, white cement and quartz sand, weighing 1000-1300 kilograms. The author of the statues is the Belarusian sculptor Viktor Smolyar.
The collection of the museum is constantly expanding. In particular, in 2009, the museum collection was replenished with about 2000 objects.
Interesting facts about the Palace of Rumyantsev-Paskevich in Gomel
- In 2010 restoration workshops were opened in the palace.
- The palace in the symbols of Belarus.
- The palace on a banknote of 20,000 Belarusian rubles issued in 2000.
- The palace on the 20,000 Belarusian rubles banknote issued in 2009.
- The palace on a 2012 postage stamp.
- The image of the palace is placed on the banknote of 20 thousand Belarusian rubles of 2000 issue.
- The image of the palace is featured on the Belarus postage stamp of BYR 1000 issued on March 2, 2012.
- The image of the palace is placed on the banknote of 20 Belarusian rubles issued in 2009.
Legends and horror stories about the palace of the Rumyantsevs-Paskeviches
1) The first mystical story begins with the appearance of light from a candle in a closed and empty room of Irina Paskevich. The watchman said that several times they saw this effect from the street through the windows, the light is dim, as if from a candle. He could not explain what was happening with rational arguments. After each check the light in the room was turned off.
2) The next mystical story is connected with the tower of the palace. Caretakers told of unusual occurrences with the table, which moved to different places during the night and the bone elephants moved on their own. Many eyewitnesses have repeatedly seen a round shadow in the tomb of Princes Paskevich, which moved along the wall near the room with the table.
3) But the strangest and even scariest story happened to the cleaner Alexandra, who worked in the palace in the 1980s-1990s. In the eighties she found a skull near the tomb, brought it inside, but the next day the skull was waiting for her at the entrance, history repeated a day later. Alexandra ended up burying the skull nearby. Perhaps someone’s jokes or perhaps supernatural processes are behind these occurrences.
4) The next story is about a female image that appears in a mirror on the first floor of the palace tower. People impressionable at once dubbed it the ghost of the last Gomel princess Irina Paskevich. This bright woman was the wife of Prince Feodor Paskevich (the son of a famous general-field marshal, the Prince of Warsaw Ivan Paskevich). Came from the Russian family of Vorontsov-Dashkov.
Photos of park sights
Palace of the Rumyantsevs Paskeviches in Gomel
The central part of the palace and the Tower works and the Grotto:
Tuesday – Friday: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m,
Saturday and Sunday: 10.00 – 18.00
Monday is the day off.
Information by phone: +375 (232) 50-95-93, +375 (232) 50-96-91.