State Historical Museum in Moscow
The State Historical Museum in Moscow is the largest in Russia collection of rare antiquities, priceless sculptures and works of art, unique documents. The exhibits are about the formation of the Russian state from ancient times to the beginning of the last century. Millions of exhibits are kept in the richest museums’ vaults, and a bit of history is in every object. In 1990, the museum building, as an integral part of the Red Square architectural ensemble, was included in the register of World Material Heritage Sites. More than a million visitors view the exhibit each year.
Save money on your trip!
Video: State Historical Museum in Moscow
The collections of the State Historical Museum (SHM) contain about 5 million objects and many millions of written documents. Less than one percent of this rich heritage is on display in 40 spacious halls, but the museum has several branches where you can explore thematic collections.
The GIM staff organizes traveling exhibitions of items from the holdings. There are informative web-portals on the Internet, where images of artistic works of Russian antiquity, ancient artifacts with detailed descriptions, digitized originals of documents of different epochs are exhibited. Exhibition halls, located on the first floor of the museum building, are wonderfully decorated. The interiors were created by a pleiad of outstanding masters of the brush, who worked in the last quarter of the XIXth – beginning of the XXth century.
The most spectacular view of the Historical Museum opens from Red Square, from St. Basil’s Cathedral. On the left stretches the walls of the Moscow Kremlin, and the corner Arsenal Tower rises above the museum. On the right are the elegant GUM malls, behind them are the domes of the Cathedral of Our Lady of Kazan and the Voskresenskie Vorota, adjoining the northeastern facade of the museum building. Along the southwestern wall of the museum along the Kremlin Avenue one can walk to Manezh Square. From here it is possible to photograph the building of the State Historical Museum from the back. From the side of the square you can see the impressive northwest facade. An equestrian monument to Soviet commander Georgy Zhukov was erected in front of it in 1995.
The State Historical Museum has a large store with a wide range of souvenirs, reproductions and educational literature.
History of the State Historical Museum
The idea of creating a special museum of the history of the Russian state belonged to the heir to the throne, the future Emperor Alexander III. In his youth, he was acquainted with similar collections abroad. The idea was instigated by the Moscow Polytechnic Exhibition in 1872. As part of the Industrial Salon, an exhibition of Russian antiquities, war relics of the Crimean War and the conquest of the Caucasus were on display. After the exhibition was over, it was decided to keep the magnificent collections in a separate room and present them to the general public. This year is considered to be the date of the History Museum’s foundation. By the way, the main exhibits of the industrial exhibition were transferred to the Polytechnic Museum, created the same year in Prechistenka by fans of science and technology.
Red Square in 1872, with the Zemsky Prikaz building on the left
The grandiose building of the Historical Museum was erected near the Kremlin, on Red Square. Its facades, designed by architect Vladimir Sherwood and urban engineer Anatoly Semyonov, changed the face of the heart of Moscow, completing the square’s ensemble with a magnificent structure. The foundation stone was laid in September 1875 in the presence of Tsar Alexander II, who laid the first symbolic stone.
Construction lasted six years and was completed by March 1881, on the eve of the coronation of Emperor Alexander III, but the exhibition was not opened to the public until two years later. The museum was named after the tsar who ascended the throne. The new cultural institution was headed by Count Alexey Uvarov, one of the instigators of its creation, a world famous archeologist, researcher of Russian antiquities, and patron of the arts, who contributed some of his personal collections of rarities to the funds. His example was followed by many Russian collectors. For example, Pyotr Shchukin, an industrial magnate and famous collector of antiquities, donated a collection of 300,000 objects to the Imperial History Museum in 1905. Curiously enough, this figure far exceeded the number of artifacts in the museum’s collection itself. The younger brother of the tsar, Grand Duke Sergei Alexandrovich Romanov, became the honorary chairman of the museum.
The project of the Historical Museum under the motto “Fatherland. Facade to Red Square (V. Sherwood, A. Semyonov), 1875. Construction of the Historical Museum (view from the Kremlin). 1875-1876.
In 1914 the Historical Museum had its own library with a repository of manuscripts and old printed books. Several rooms of the building had to be reconstructed for book repositories and reading rooms. Among the book treasures kept there are “Izbornik” by prince Svyatoslav of 1073, Mstislav’s Gospel written in 1117 and decorated with multicolored miniatures.
After the revolution of 1917 a considerable part of museum collections was sent to the basement storehouses, and, unfortunately, some exhibits have suffered considerable damage or have disappeared altogether. The paintings and decorations in the halls were destroyed, and many parts of the facades were dismantled. Meanwhile the holdings of the State History Museum increased noticeably – values from the liquidated Moscow museums and monasteries, from the confiscated estates of aristocrats and wealthy businessmen near Moscow were transferred here. Since the 1920s, the new authorities renewed the exposition and began to reflect Communist ideology.
During the Great Patriotic War, the museum did not stop working despite the bombing of Moscow by enemy aircraft. The most valuable artifacts were evacuated to the eastern part of the country, many collections were moved to the basements of the building, and moulages appeared in their place. In the post-war period, the halls of the second floor were occupied by exhibitions reflecting the development of the Soviet Union.
Only 100 years after the construction of the Historical Museum, when pre-revolutionary engineering began to fail, it was decided to restore the dilapidated building. Extensive work was carried out from 1986 to 2003. The building, recognized as a particularly valuable site of cultural heritage, was restored to its original appearance. The restorers, following Sherwood’s schematic designs and old photographs, restored the lost elements of the interior and exterior décor, wall paintings and arches in the museum halls. The rooms were equipped with climate control systems that maintain optimum temperature regime and air humidity for fragile exhibits. In the open space of the courtyard a new exhibition hall and a Polovtsian patio appeared.
Today the State Historical Museum exhibits about 22,000 carefully selected artifacts. It will take a few days to get a superficial look at the historical treasures on display. Experts say a leisurely and thoughtful inspection will take at least five years!
The building is made of shaped bricks of warm terracotta red color with smart white inserts, harmonizing with the colors of the Kremlin medieval buildings. The exterior appearance of the building reflects pseudo-Russian architectural style fashionable at that time, with its complex patterned facade, towers, hipped roofs, corbel arches, corbel arches, coiffure arches, false balconies and other refined elements. About 600 skillful masons were working on scaffolding.
Hundreds of windows of the building, designed by the architect and restorer Alexander Popov, are decorated with wooden bindings – a replica of the ancient Russian mica windows. The chief architect Sherwood planned to decorate the window openings of the facade walls with polychrome ceramic tiles, but there wasn’t enough money for majolica. More than a million and a half golden rubles were spent on the construction, which was a colossal sum at the time.
Walking through the History Museum
The wonderful interiors are not less pompous than the exterior of the building. The mosaic and marble floors, carved gilt picture frames, painted walls and ceilings, stucco cornices, forged details and bronze cast decoration turn the enfilade of rooms of the museum into a luxurious palace apartment.
The exposition rooms of the State Historical Museum were decorated by talented painters, members of the Imperial Academy of Arts. The pictures were painted by Ivan Aivazovsky, Viktor Vasnetsov, Ilya Repin, Valentin Serov, Sergey Korovin and other prominent artists. Thus, the museum halls themselves, decorated in the palace style, have become true works of art.
The front entrance leads through huge arched halls with a painted colonnade. The vault depicts the genealogical tree of Russia’s rulers; at its roots are the founders of national statehood, the great princes of Kiev of the Rurikovich dynasty – Holy Prince Vladimir Svyatoslavich and Saint Princess Olga. In total on the branches of the family tree depicts 68 portraits of crowned heads. This painting, created by painters of the school of Academician Thomas Gavrilovich Toropov, in Soviet times was miraculously preserved under a layer of lime whitewash, and in the 1990s was cleared by restorers.
To the right of the entrance is the memorial study of the museum’s first director, Count Uvarov. Visitors pass a portal leading to a suite of three rooms.
The luxurious Byzantine Room A recalls the interiors of the ancient Hagia Sophia Cathedral in Constantinople. The exhibition presented here is poetically called “The Metal of the Gods”. On display here are works of Orthodox art from the 12th-19th centuries and church artifacts from other Christian denominations: icons and liturgical books in precious settings with semi-precious stones, chests, bowls, candlesticks, gold and silver utensils.
Room B is decorated with a view of the shores of the Bosporan Kingdom, which once ruled the Kerch Strait. The panorama is painted by Aivazovsky. The theme of the exhibition is “Metal of the kings”: coins and combat orders, gold nuggets, award weapons, platinum measurement standards and weights.
The genuine treasures, symbols of luxury and wealth, you can see in the showcases of the hall “B”. Here the magnificent jewelry pieces, created by the masters of different countries and epochs, from antiquity to the beginning of the XXI century shimmer. Connoisseurs of jewelry can see other collections by visiting the depository, located in one of the towers of the building.
A detail of the ceiling of the central portal in Room A, a fragment of the ceiling mosaic in Room 9, a fragment of the ceiling paintings in Room 10, the ceiling decoration in Room 13, the west side. The Moscow Kremlin at the Beginning of the Fifteenth Century” panel
The first floor of the State Historical Museum houses 21 halls, which successively represent the history of Russia from the Paleolithic cavemen to the times of Peter the Great. The rooms are decorated with thematic works of Russian painters. Among them is Vasnetsov’s The Stone Age, a monumental circular panel adorning the frieze of the primitive history hall. You will see the oldest works of art found on the territory of Russia – the female figures, carved from mammoth tusks about 20,000 years ago, images of idols and totem animals.
The mood for the exposition of Bronze Age artifacts is created by the painting “Night Sacrifice” by Semiradsky. Near the walls of the hall attention is drawn to the stone statues, thousands of years standing on top of the mounds of the Black Sea steppes.
Two halls are devoted to the history of the Old Russian state and its capital in Kiev. Chronicles mention 15 Slavic tribes, united under the authority of the great princes of Kiev. “The Tale of Bygone Years” names the exact date of creation of the state – 862. And in 988 there was a fateful event: Equal-to-the-Apostles Prince Vladimir disseminated among his subjects the Christian teachings. In the Scandinavian sagas of that time, the rapidly developing Kievan Rus was called Gardarica, the country of cities.
One of the halls is painted with exact copies of the frescos of the Church of the Savior on Nereditsa, built in Novgorod in the XII century. Now you can admire this painting only here: during the Great Patriotic War, the ancient church was destroyed, and the original frescoes were destroyed. In this hall famous birch-bark manuscripts are also shown: everyday correspondence of Novgorod citizens of XII-XIII centuries. In another hall is a skillfully made copy of the white-stone carved frieze of the Dmitrievsky Cathedral, built by Prince Vsevolod the Big Nest. It is one of the masterpieces of the stonecutters of medieval Russia.
A large exposition is devoted to Old Russian crafts. Interestingly, the tools of carpenters, tanners, blacksmiths, cooperage, potters and other craftsmen look very modern. The shapes of the tools have hardly changed over the centuries.
A gold-encrusted Gospel, 1772.
Several showcases display treasures – women’s jewelry, coins, and gold church utensils. All these things were hidden in the ground during the invasion of Russia by the Mongol hordes led by the descendants of Genghis Khan (1237-1240). There are also the arms of the 13th century – arrows, spears, swords of princely combatants, and sabers of nomads. The greatest examples of Russian historical literature – “The Tale of the Mamaev Battle” and “Zadonschina” – tell of the struggle of Russian princes against invaders. These books, as well as annalistic collections can be seen on the museum stands.
A separate hall displays a rich collection of icons, samples of works of nuns-gilded seamstresses of the XIV-XVI centuries.
Another enfilade of museum halls tells about the reign of Ivan the Terrible, the Time of Troubles, the election of the first Romanov to the throne and the grand reforms of Peter the Great. There are a lot of portraits and personal belongings of sovereigns and tsars. At the center of the exhibition, telling the story of the flowering of culture and science in Russia, is a huge globe, bought by Tsar Peter in Holland.
The historical narrative continues in the fifteen halls of the second floor of the State Historical Museum. The exposition starts from the epoch of palace coups, following the death of Emperor Peter the Great, and goes up to the period of reign of Tsar Alexander III (80-90 years of XIX century).
Muskets from the time of Napoleon’s invasion of Russia in 1812
A vivid exposition is devoted to Napoleon’s invasion of Russia in 1812. Military relics of the opposing armies are on display here: guns, rifles, uniforms of soldiers and officers, banners. One of the exhibits stands out – the saber of French emperor Bonaparte. He received this award-winning weapon as a young general, having distinguished himself in the Egyptian campaign. There are portraits and personal belongings of Russian commanders who repelled the invasion of the Great Army – Commander-in-Chief Mikhail Kutuzov, Prince Pyotr Bagration, who died at Borodino, and General Mikhail Barclay de Tolly.
The Decembrists’ uprising on the Senate Square in St. Petersburg, the conquest of the Caucasus and Turkestan, the Crimean War, another war with Turkey in the 1870s, the campaign to the Balkans, the reforms of Emperor Alexander the Liberator became landmarks in the history of the Empire. Expositions of separate halls tell about these events.
The last hall is devoted to the era of Alexander the Peacemaker for a reason. It was Alexander III and Tsarina Maria Fyodorovna who were the first visitors to the Historical Museum in the spring of 1883.
The rooms on the third floor are designed to house traveling exhibitions and display new acquisitions. The museum funds are annually replenished by 10,000 – 15,000 exhibits transferred from field archaeological expeditions, sent by private donors. Valuable books, icons and paintings are purchased at auctions. Unexpected gifts are presented by descendants of Russian aristocrats living in foreign countries.
Individual thematic expositions.
As vast as the halls of the State Historical Museum are, only a fraction of the collected treasures are on display here. Collections have long been overflowing the vaults. Several branches of the Historical Museum have been created in the capital in order to create separate thematic expositions that reflect the milestones of the country’s history.
Next to the main building, on Revolution Square, 2/3, there is the Museum of the Patriotic War of 1812. In the old manor Izmailovo, the formation of the Central Museum of Russian Cossacks is coming to an end. Here are passed more than 600 unique items: registered weapons, orders and medals, uniforms and banners of Cossack regiments, military topographic maps, documents, paintings, and sculptural portraits. There are also restoration workshops and some storage rooms there.
Another interesting museum, belonging to the State Historical Museum, may be visited in Zaryadie. The interiors of the old Romanov estate have an exposition recreating the everyday life of Moscow nobility of the 16th-17th centuries.
The exhibition complex with the area of 120 000 m² is being built on the territory of the village Kommunarka, 4 km to the south-west of Moscow Ring Road.
Near Novodevichy monastery by 2023 an exhibition center will be built dedicated to the more than thousand-year history of the Russian Orthodox Church.
The State Historical Museum works from 10:00 to 19:00 and on Friday and Saturday until 21:00. The ticket offices stop selling tickets an hour before closing the GIM. On Tuesdays – day off.
The cost of admission ticket – 400 rubles. Visitors under the age of 16 years are allowed free of charge. Privileged persons pay 200 rubles. Family tickets are available for 600 rubles for four persons (two adults + two teenagers under 18 years).
The ticket office offers audio guides in Russian (800 rubles) and in foreign languages (1100 rubles). Before the opening of large exhibitions of items from the collection’s vaults special audio guides are created which describe the new expositions in detail.
Information banners and touch screen LCDs are installed in the halls. You can use them to see a three-dimensional image of an exhibit you are interested in and thumb through an antique folio in the display case.
The Historical Museum’s specialty store is next door in the old three-story building 5/1 on Nikolskaya Street, which looks out over Red Square. Its sales rooms offer a wide range of gift editions of books on Russian history, colorful albums, catalogs of museum collections and reproductions of art paintings. Sold here are souvenirs, children’s literature, board games, discs with video reviews of the exhibits and much more. The store is open daily from 09:00 to 21:00.
How to get there
Address of the State Historical Museum in Moscow – Red Square, 1. The nearest metro stations: “Okhotny Ryad” (north-west), “Teatralnaya” (north), “Ploshchad Revolutsii” (north-east).
State Historical Museum in Moscow
From September 1 to May 31: Mon-Fri from 10:00 to 18:00; Fri-Sat until 21:00, Tues off. From June 1 to August 31: daily from 10:00 to 21:00. The ticket office closes one hour before closing time.
Adults, RF and EEU citizens – 400 rubles; Extramural students, schoolchildren, students with ISIC card, pensioners, privileged citizens – 200 rubles. Free of charge for accredited guide-translators, special privileged categories.
State Historical Museum in Moscow, the cultural heritage of federal significance, appeared comparatively recently. The majestic red-brick building, which completed the ensemble of the country’s main square, opened its doors to visitors in 1883. During the Soviet era, its holdings were enriched with nationalized private collections and treasures from closed churches and dissolved museums. Now the largest collections of coins, unique old manuscripts and books, important archeological findings, weapons, and priceless works of art in the country are on display here.
Ticket prices in 2022
The cost of visiting the main exhibition for adult citizens of Russia and the EAEU countries is 400 rubles. The ticket price for the citizens of other countries is 400-800 rubles. The preferential ticket price of 200 rubles applies to the following categories of visitors:
- students of Russian universities, colleges and technical colleges, studying on a full-time basis;
- Persons between 16 and 18 years old;
- holders of ISIC and IYTC international cards;
- retirees of the Russian Federation and EEU countries;
- other privileged categories of citizens of the Russian Federation and the EEU countries (the full list is available on the museum’s website).
For family visit (two parents with one or two minor children) the price of the ticket for the citizens of the Russian Federation and EEU countries is 600 rubles. Children from 16 to 18 years old require an extra ticket which costs 200 rubles.
The price of the complex ticket including audio guide “sightseeing tour” in Russian is 800 rubles, in foreign language it is 900-1100 rubles. Tickets for lectures, thematic exhibitions and other events are paid separately and their cost is specified on the official website of the State Historical Museum in Moscow.
The main entrance to the Historical Museum of Moscow – Yandex maps panorama
Opening hours of the museum are set depending on the season.
From September 1 to May 31, the complex is open from 10.00 to 18.00 on all days except Fridays and Saturdays. On those days it is open from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Day off – Tuesday.
November 22 and 28 – the museum is closed.
November 26 and December 3, 10 and 24 – from 10:00 to 18:00.
In the summer, from June 1 to August 31 the museum is open daily from 10.00 to 21.00.
Checkout time ends one hour before the closing of the State Historical Museum.
On February 9, 1872 Emperor Alexander II signed a decree for the creation of the State Educational Museum-Center. The basis of the museum collection is an exhibition about the Crimean War of 1853-1856 from the Sevastopol department of the grand All-Russian Polytechnic Exhibition, dedicated to the 200th anniversary of Peter the Great.
Alexander II himself laid the foundation stone of the State Historical Museum in Moscow in August of 1875 in the presence of the Duke of Edinburgh, but the emperor was not destined to live to see the opening. On 27 May 1883, his successor, Alexander III, and his wife, Maria Fiodorovna, attended the ceremony that presented the new cultural monument to the world.
The museum collections were quickly replenished by the hands of benefactors, including a representative of the Lower Novgorod nobility, A. A. Catoire de Bioncourt, Dostoevsky’s widow, the Chertkov, Burylin, Obolensky, Sapozhnikov families and many others.
П. P. I. Shchukin, who deservedly remained in the country’s history as the Great Maecenas of Russia, in 1905 gave to the museum his unique collection of connoisseur-collectors. Shchukin’s exhibits formed the basis of the GIM expositions – their share is about 15% of all the contemporary holdings of the museum. Thanks to him and similar benefactors, selflessly donating their priceless collections for the benefit of the country, the State Museum has become what it is today – one of the largest and most famous historical museums in the world.
Its history, as well as the life of the Russian people for whose glory it was created, had its moments of joy and tragedy. The museum has witnessed changes of system and government, a silent participant in revolutions, and an unwilling spectator of military parades in 1941 and 1945. During Soviet times it was even considered to be demolished to open up a wide avenue from the northern end of Red Square and have more room for parades, but fortunately these plans were never carried out. From 1986 to 2002, the building underwent extensive restoration work. Today it is open again, and has the status of the largest museum in Russia and several branches – the Museum of the Patriotic War of 1812, Boyarsky Palaty in Zaryadye, and the Intercession Cathedral.
The building of the Historical Museum in Moscow
In the XV-XVI centuries the post house was located here, then the Provident Yard, and later the Zemsky Prikaz – the central authority. In 1699 a separate building was built for it – a beautiful two-storeyed mansion in the Naryshkin baroque style, flaunting a turret and plat bands. A part of its premises was subsequently given to the Main Pharmacy. From 1755 to 1793 the Moscow University was situated here, and after that – the offices of the city authorities. In 1874 this territory was allotted for construction of the Historical Museum.
According to the initial plans, the old Zemsky Prikaz was to be kept in the courtyard of the new complex, but in 1875 the house was demolished. The building of the State History Museum, built upon the project of A. A. Semyonov and V. O. Sherwood, is in pseudo-Russian style in the guise and likeness of a terem – it reflects the historical past of the great Russia. The two main towers are crowned with two-headed imperial eagles, the smaller side tents are decorated with lions and unicorns, and the facades are impressed with the abundance of skilful small decorative elements – kokoshnikos, widths, arches, guards, diurnals, stretched eaves and platbands. Unfortunately, the full realization of the project was never implemented: it was too costly to clad the huge structure. There are also pseudo-Russian motifs inside the building, but each of the numerous halls has its own “zest”. The most famous masters – V. M. Vasnetsov, I. K. Aivazovsky, G. I. Semiradsky – were invited to decorate them.
In 1889, the museum building was extended by the transversal block between the small and large courtyards for 500 seats. In 1914, the archive, library and manuscripts section were created in the place of the demolished lecture hall. The project was headed by I.E. Bondarenko.
The building of the State Historical Museum is protected by UNESCO as an integral part of the Red Square ensemble.
The Historical Museum in Moscow
The museum’s exhibition area is 4,000 square meters, spread over two floors and divided into 39 exhibition halls. The collections available to the public comprise over 22,000 exhibits covering all stages of Russia’s development.
This allows visitors to learn more about the life, culture and history of the country in different periods of its existence. The museum’s funds hold more than 15 million rare written sources from the history of Russia of the 16th-20th centuries. The most valuable of them are considered to be one of the oldest handwritten books of Ancient Russia – the Izbornik by Svyatoslav, the Moscow Codex II and the Khludov Psalter – one of three surviving books of the IX century.
The principle of the exposition is still the same as when the museum opened in 1873. To “serve as a visual history,” it is necessary to collect in strict chronological order “all monuments of significant events” from the history of the Russian state. According to museum curators, the mentality of the GIM is different from that of museums in Western Europe. Its goal is enlightenment, not amazement, and its method is not amusement, but serious study, designed to provide a point of reference for the past and create a proper future.
Museum exhibitions sometimes reveal real treasures: for example, the monumental wrought iron lattice from the gates of the Novodvinsk fortress of Peter the Great’s time, the vestry of Ivan the Terrible, the masked sleigh of the Russian Empress, decorated with carved gilded eagles, and the mysterious Galich treasure trove, a unique find full of mysterious cult objects. The collections continue to grow. The main part of the museum replenishments are the results of archaeologists’ work, a smaller part – special purchases and gifts of patrons of the arts.
Exhibitions and guided tours
Even if you have been to the State Historical Museum of Moscow more than once, at each visit something new will be waiting for you. In addition to the permanent main exhibition, there are regularly themed exhibitions devoted to the history of the royal family, traditional Russian crafts, photography, painting, or creating icons. For a lively dive into the past, museum workers organize “Historical Saturdays”, opening the unknown pages of Russian history, “Moscow mysteries”, telling about detective mysteries of the capital, hold informative lectures, hold movie screenings and holiday performances. For the most curious the museum offers theatrical tours and unusual quests. The exact schedule of exhibitions and events can be found on the official website of the Historical Museum in Moscow.
The list of permanent group tours that can be pre-booked for both adults and schoolchildren includes “Journey to Ancient Moscow of the XVI-XVII centuries,” “Treasures of Antiquity and the Middle Ages,” “One Day on Red Square” and many others. For details and to order tickets please contact the Excursion Center of the Museum by phone 8 (495) 692-37-31; 8 (495) 692-68-17.
The State History Museum video
How to get to the State Historical Museum in Moscow
The Historical Museum is a part of the main sightseeing route in the center of Moscow – it is located next to the Museum of the Patriotic War of 1812 between Manezhnaya Square and Red Square. It can be reached on foot from the main sights of the capital near Red Square.
If you go by subway (Moscow subway scheme), the nearest station is “Okhotny Ryad” with an exit to Manezh Square. Ploshchad Revolutsii, Biblioteka imeni Lenina, Teatralnaya, and Alexandrovsky Sad stations are also nearby. If you get to the museum by bus, the right stop is “Okhotny Ryad Metro Station” or “Theater Square.
If necessary, use any of the convenient cab apps: Uber, Yandex Taxi, Gett Taxi or Maxim. In this case you don’t have to worry about the cost of the fare: it is known immediately when you place an order.
Exit from the metro station “Okhotny Ryad” on Manezhnaya Square in front of the State Historical Museum – Yandex Maps panorama