The Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in Sushevo on Tikhvin Lane
The temple of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God in Sushchev is one of the favorite cultural spaces, on the basis of which a large number of various events are organized, serving for an interesting pastime in Moscow.
For travelers, the parish church is of interest as an example of architecture and national culture, a possible point of an excursion program. It is also the center of spiritual life of the city, a place of gathering of believers and worship services.
For more information, call 74999782497 or visit tihvinka13.ru.
Church of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God in Sushchev is located at: district Tverskaya, Tikhvinsky Lane, 13a, near Mendeleevskaya metro station.
Working schedule: Mon-Sat: 09:00 – 19:00.
Let us know that you found the number on Zune – companies work better if they know that you can affect their rating Got a call?
- Get Access
- Report an Error
Everything was satisfactory, got everything done. Changed the barrel on the car and repaired the power steering pump. Masters communicated correctly, ok.
Reviews about the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in Sushchev on Tikhvin Lane
In 1831, the chapel of St. Andrew was dismantled, and in its place built a new one, on the other side of the church built a chapel of the Icon of the Mother of God “Joy of All Who Sorrow”.
Specialists of the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in Sushchev in Tikhvin Lane
Do you work here or know someone who works here? Add a specialist and he will appear here and also in the directory of specialists. Learn more about the benefits of listing
The official Vkontakte group of the Church of Our Lady of Tikhvin in Sushchev on Tikhvin Lane
On the eve of the Day of Solidarity in the fight against terrorism in the Russian University of Transport (MIIT) on September 2, 2022, on the eve of the Day of Solidarity in the fight against terrorism in our country, in the Russian University of Transport (MIIT) there were activities in memory of the employees of the transport sector, who died in the performance of their professional duty. In the University church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker the requiem service was held, which was headed by the church rector, priest Maxim Nikitsky. Father Maksim addressed to all those present … – Read more
In his remarks he recalled the words of the Apostle Paul: “Remember your leaders … and looking at the death of their lives, imitate their faith,” which reflect not only reverence for the deceased, but also a great educational potential for the younger generations and for all who have a professional duty entrusted to them by the Lord. At the end of the memorial service flowers were laid at the monument to the dead workers of the transport complex. The event was attended by Deputy Minister of Transport of the Russian Federation, A. Sukhanov, Chairman of the regional public organization of veterans of the central office of the Federal Service for Transport Supervision, V. Cherkov, A. Ovchinnikov, Pro-Rector of the Moscow State University of Transport (MIIT), representatives of organizations of the transport sector, veterans of the industry, students of the Military Training Center and the students of the University of Transport, students of the State Gymnasium of Moscow State University of Transport (MIIT). Photo: Diana Zhdanova, Press Service and Information Department of the Ministry of Transport of the Russian Federation
MOLEben for the beginning of the school year with a reading of the Akathist to St. Nicholas the Wonderworker was held in the house church of the Russian University of Transport on September 1, 2022, on Knowledge Day. The service was headed by the rector of the temple, priest Maxim Nikitsky. The service was attended by members of the University Academic Council, representatives of administration and teaching staff, and students. All those present prayed to God for all the people who are … – Read more
The students and faculty as they entered the new academic year of 2022-23. In his welcoming remarks, Father Superior congratulated all present on Knowledge Day and wished all those who work in education and those who seek to learn “wisdom and reason for the enlightenment of hearts and for the reception of good teachings.” “Today’s service,” stressed Father Maxim, “also opens another period of worship at the university, which strengthens all of us in carrying out the responsible obediences entrusted not only by our parents, the administration and the state, but also by the Lord Himself, because we Christians know that in everything is the Providential accompaniment of the Creator of each of us, and thus the Lord Himself expects from us diligence, honesty, determination and effectiveness in the performance of those things to which we are called.
Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in Suschevo (Moscow)
The Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in the Novaya Sloboda in Suschev is an Orthodox church belonging to the Iberian parish of the Moscow city diocese of the Russian Orthodox Church. Architectural monument.
History [ edit ]
In the XVII -XVIII centuries, Suschevskaya Street was the main route of the Suschevskaya Sloboda, and the church was the main temple of this Sloboda. The primacy of the church is also confirmed by an engraving of the Dutch traveler C. de Bruon. On the engraving the traveler depicted Moscow in 1702, where a clear view of the church with a bell tower in Suschevo. (On the recommendation of Peter I, de Bruon painted Moscow from the Sparrow Hills). In 1710, on the north side of the church was attached a chapel in honor of St. Andrew the Apostle.
Since the end of the XVIII century a huge estate between Bankovsky Lane and Kamer-Kollezhsky Val (nowadays Suschevsky) belonged to the widow of the Active Privy Counsellor Nadezhda Vasilievna Shepeleva. On the territory of the estate, located next to the Church of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God, there was a huge shady park of different species of trees. There was also a pond, which was called Vasilyevsky, in memory of St. Basil the Fool for Christ, who liked to retire in this park. Being a parishioner of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God in Suschev, N. V. Shepeleva “generously endowed her parish church of Tikhvin with rich contributions”. Till 1812 the Shepeleva estate and the bordering region was called Novy Suschevo and consisted of country houses of noble families: the Vadkovskys, Skavronskys, Lyapunov, Tolstoy and others.
During the Patriotic War of 1812 a fire destroyed two thirds of buildings of the city. “The Emperor Napoleon, in ordering to burn Moscow, committed a barbaric act. “. During the stay of the enemy, the churches of Moscow were plundered, ruined, and desecrated. The calamities of war did not pass by the Tikhvin Church in Suschevo: “Our church with the chapel of the Apostle Andrew the First Called was robbed and deprived of its graces by the enemies of faith and mankind. The holy thrones are ruined. The main side-chapel of the church in the name of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God was very seriously damaged, and only the side-chapel in the name of St. Andrew the Apostle was prepared for Divine service, “but after the help of the parishioners and kind donors the side-chapel was renewed and the church was prepared accordingly for Divine service”. On 5 December 1812, the chapel in the name of the Holy Apostle Andrew was consecrated anew, about what the priest Timothy Ioannov, “of the Church of the Most Holy Mother of God of Tikhvin, in Sushevo”, reported in his “Report”.
It is remarkable, that after the Patriotic War of 1812, it was decided to preserve only 157 of the 257 churches that had survived the fire, and to dismantle the rest due to the complexity of the repairs; however, Muscovites did not allow dismantling them, and the churches were restored at their own expense. By 1817, there were already 246 churches in Moscow. After 1812, the area around the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God was changing: it began to be inhabited by artisans, vegetable growers – future parishioners, who settled in poor houses. But there were still few buildings and the area near the temple abounded with groves. “To the northeast, near the parish of the Tikhvin church, the pine grove of Maryina, then still uninhabited, a favorite place of the poor Muscovites, began and was lost in the distance in a dark wide ribbon, and to the southeast was “a vacant lot, through which Moscow was clearly visible, shining with its wide eyes”.
In the summer of 1820 the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God with the side-altar of St. Andrew the First-Called at the expense of N. Shepeleva “outside was renewed in the best way, but the bell tower, being there, was not corrected and was completely inconsistent with the grandeur of the church. In 1825, thanks to the efforts of a wealthy parishioner, a new bell tower was constructed. In the same years, with the funds of Shepeleva, a carved gilded iconostasis was made and holy images were painted for the iconostasis. Inside the walls were decorated with writing. She also “donated priestly and deacon’s vestments, sewn on velvet with gold and pearls, and the same covers for the sacred vessels. The temple was completely restored and renovated. In 1850 from the southern side of the temple symmetrically to the northern side-chapel attached a side-chapel in the name of the icon of the Mother of God “Joy of All Who Sorrow”, also by means of N. Shepeleva.
By the mid-19th century the church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God inside and outside was completely renovated and expanded, thanks to the substantial donations of N. V. Shepeleva. Now the church has three side-altars: the main one is in the name of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God, the side-altars in the north in the name of St. Andrew the First Called and the south one is in the name of the icon “Joy of All Who Sorrow.
After the death of N. V. Shepeleva (1761-1854) her estate passed to the Princes Golitsyn, and in 1900 all the estates under the will of A. Golitsina. V. go to the monastery “Joy of All Who Sorrow”, founded by her in 1890. (Now in front of Stankin on Novoslobodskaya Street stands the decapitated Church of the All-Merciful Savior, the only survivor of the monastery).
Tikhvin temple from time immemorial was surrounded by special human care: it was enlarged, renewed and improved. In 1896 the walls in the main side-altar of the temple decorated with paintings are renovated, in 1900 the iconostasis in the same side-altar is renewed, and at this time it is assumed to increase the temple, as the number of parishioners is growing. The locality of “Suschevo” is intensively built up. Along with permanent residents in the area live many artels, contractors who attend the church on holidays, In this regard, in early 1901, “Parishioners, alderman and parishioners asked permission to expand the church and move the altars in the new places “as on holidays, the church is extremely overcrowded. Permission was received from the Moscow Spiritual Consistory. In October 1902, the expansion was completed, as described in the Certificate of October 15, 1902. 1902 г.” Class Artist Dmitry Vinogradov. The church was extensively rebuilt according to the project of S. Yakovlev at the expense of the church, parishioners and benefactors, as reported in his “Report” local priest S. Soloviev. The temple was greatly enlarged. The altar in the name of the icon of the Mother of God “Joy of All Who Sorrow” was consecrated on October 25, 1902, on the eve of the feast of October 24. The altar in the name of St. Andrew was consecrated on November 29, 1902, on the eve of the feast of his memory, which is celebrated on November 30. The consecration was carried out by the archpriest Nikolai Fedorovich Voznesensky.
In 1905, in the church on the means of parishioners Nikita Nikolaevich Korolkov and Mikhail Ivanovich Nikiforov, two more side-altars were arranged: in the name of St. Theodosius of Chernigov and in the name of St. Seraphim of Sarov. The altars were consecrated by the archpriest N.F. Voznesensky on July 19, 1905 – “on that day Orthodox Russia celebrated a rare spiritual celebration – the glorification of the Monk Seraphim of Sarov, an ascetic” 70 years after his death. (On this day the relics of the reverend Fr. Seraphim and his co-celebration as a saint). The painter Kulakov painted icons of St. Theodosius of Chernigov and the Monk Seraphim of Sarov for the two new side churches, and the master Stazharova made silver chasubles for these icons.
Since that time, the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God has had five altars: the main – in the name of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God and the side-altars – in the name of St. Andrew the Apostle, in the name of the icon of the Mother of God “Joy of All Who Sorrow”, in the name of St. Theodosius of Chernigov, in the name of the Reverend Seraphim of Sarov. There were seven bells in the church’s bell tower. The largest festive bell weighed 342 poods, the polyhedral bell weighed 100 poods, and the other five bells weighed less. A distinctive feature of Russian bells is their soundness and melodiousness and one can only imagine the majestic bpago sound of these powerful seven bells.
Throughout the following years, right up to 1917, the church was constantly renewed and improved through the efforts of the church and its parishioners: the vaults of the refectory were remade, the mosaic floor was repaired, the second tier of the newly arranged side-altar iconostases was painted by painter Kulakov, the walls above the icon of the Mother of God “Joy of All Who Sorrow” and the icon of St. Andrew the First-Called were painted by painter Filippov. The walls over the icon of the Mother of God “Joy of All Who Sorrow” are painted by painter Filippov; the icon of St. Andrew the Apostle is re-gilded in the newly built side churches; the mural painting in the main chancel is renovated and washed; the chandelier is re-gilded. The yard of the temple was asphalted. The temple had a large library, which was annually replenished with subscription editions of spiritual literature. The temple subscribed to magazines and newspapers, such as “Troitsky Listok”, “Russian Pilgrim”, “Wanderer”, “Soul-helpful reading” and others.
But the year 1917 came. After the revolution, persecutions of the Church began: churches were taken away from the faithful and used as warehouses, factories, clubs, garages or simply demolished – ancient monuments were destroyed, while “a monument,” said Metropolitan Philaret, “is a silent preacher, which in some respects may be superior to the speaker, because it does not stop preaching to him, and thus reaches a whole people and many subsequent generations.
The bells from the belfries of the surviving churches are dropped and melted down – the voices of hundreds of Moscow churches seemed to be forever silenced. Clergy are persecuted: in 1919 alone there were 66 members of the higher clergy in prison and in exile: 6 Metropolitans, 3 Archbishops and 57 Bishops. Fifty-nine relics were uncovered – a mockery of the Church.
In 1922 on “Decision of the Central Executive Committee” from 22.02.22 from survived temples and monasteries church values are withdrawn. Highly artistic church utensils made of precious metals, created by the people for centuries, are ruthlessly destroyed – all in echelons exported to the West for sale as scrap metal. For example, a telegram dated August 22, 1922 informs that in the shop windows of Riga “a significant amount of church treasures brought from Russia were found, including: mitre with diamonds, pectoral crosses, ancient icons and church vestments in ripped-up condition. According to the “Act of April 5, 1922” from the Church of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God 11 pood 26 pounds 54 gold pieces of silverware was seized. Parishioners of the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in a Statement dated April 5, 1922 asked that two ancient 18th century Gospels and one riza from the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God be returned (taken during the removal of valuables on April 5) as revered by all parishioners. “Nothing was returned, of course. None of those who carried out the seizure of church treasures were not interested in the ancient icons of the old masters, the artistic value of the items. The goal was the same – to seize gold, silver, jewelry. Maybe it saved the icon of Our Lady of Tikhvin, which has now returned to its church in Sushevo (without the riza, of course).
The archives have preserved documents describing the splendor of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God in the church in Suschevo before the ravages to which it was exposed on April 5, 1922: “The temple icon of Our Lady of Tikhvin of Greek lettering, on it: 1. Robe with a crown of silver gilded, weighing twenty-five pounds and six gold coins. On this riza the lamb is adorned with many small and simple stones and with several large stones of the same kind. 2. In the ornament are eight hundred grains of pearls, weighing thirty-four gold pieces; of medium-sized pearls three hundred and eighty-seven grains, weighing nine gold pieces; and of small pearls three and a half gold pieces. Between these pearls is set a) on the upper part of the breastplate three rings of gold; the first ring has a turquoise stone in the middle, encircled by diamonds, of which there are twenty-one; the second is set with thirty-seven diamonds, in the middle of which is an emerald stone; the third is set with a sprinkling of roses, sixteen diamonds, in the middle of which is a venus stone; b) on each side six pieces of silver of medium height: three of them ornamented with diamonds, of which there are twenty-five, three with jahonts, in two of the latter one emerald each; c) in the lower part small cufflinks, in each of which there are seven diamonds.”
In the fifties, surviving churches and monasteries began to be closed. This bitter fate does not pass and the temple of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God. On January, 25, 1955 there was issued the “Resolution № 73” of the President. Mosoblispolkom “on closing the church of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God in Suschev. The council of the “Orthodox Christian Community of Tikhvinitsa Church in Suschevo” appeals to the religious commission of the All-Russian Central Executive Committee on January 31st – the parishioners still hope to get their church back. The “petition” stated that the church serves a very large territory: from the Lazarevsky cemetery to Bashilovka and from Aleksandrovskaya Square to the line of the Vindavskaya railroad (now Riga); it also stated that “the church is attended by believers who were previously served by churches: the former Skorbyashensky Monastery, b. Kazanskaya, b. Miusskoe cemetery, b. Lazarevsky cemetery, etc. (By this time many surviving churches and monasteries had been desecrated or “liquidated”).
On April 5, 1955, despite persuasive requests from parishioners, the Presidium of the VTsIK decreed to “liquidate the Church in Tikhvinsky Lane. The church was closed and given to the Stankin Institute of Machine Tooling (Stankin) for mechanical workshops. Stankin rebuilds the church to meet the needs of the training and experimental plant. For this purpose, three additional ceilings were built inside the temple, up to the octagon, the second floor in the southern and northern aisles were added, and the first floor was replaned – a number of ridiculous partitions were made. The altars were desecrated – an iron foundry was set up in them, due to which the ground in the altars was soaked with fuel oil to a depth of 2 meters, the walls were also damaged and partially destroyed. The magnificent painting of the walls was ruthlessly destroyed. Buildings were added to the temple building from the outside, and in the courtyard of the temple there was a pile of different kinds of sheds, which turned the territory into a huge dump.
Since 1984 the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in Suschaeva was listed under No. 557 as a monument of architecture, and was placed on the state protection, but no measures for the preservation of the temple were taken during these years.
In 1991 the surviving temples returned to the Moscow Patriarchate, so by the Decree of His Holiness the Patriarch of July 5, 1991 Archpriest of the Church of St. Pimen Vladimir Eremin was appointed rector of the surviving, but destroyed the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God, in Suschevo, to continue to serve in the church of Pimen the Great. It was only a year later, on 26 May 1992, by decree of the Moscow City Government, that the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God was returned. The returned temple was so ruined and wounded that it made a painful impression. But it was necessary to revive the temple. Stankin was in no hurry to remove its bulky equipment, which numbered more than 200 units, so the first All-Night Vigil and a prayer service on the Feast of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God on July 9, 1992 were held in a small space, cleared of machinery. Since that day, the parish life resumed; all-night vigils were held on Saturdays in the evening and on the eve of holidays, while major holidays included prayers in the morning. At other times, a small group of parishioners worked to clear the polluted main altar, removing the acrid and smelly dirt by hand.
The only aisle that could have been prepared for a service in a short time was the one in the name of the Mother of God “Joy of All Who Sorrow,” but it was still filled with equipment. Finally, in October, Stankin removed the equipment, and a month later, on December 5, 1992, the Chapel of Our Lady of Sorrows was consecrated by the archpriest Vladimir Divakov; the same day the All-Night Vigil was celebrated. To the great joy of the parishioners, the first Divine Liturgy was celebrated on December 4, the Feast of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary. After nearly 60 years of desecration, regular divine services have been resumed in the temple: the Word of God sounds again, prayers are offered, the lamps are lit before the holy icons – the temple is spiritually reborn.
On July 8, 1993, on the eve of the feast of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God, the temple icon of Our Lady of Tikhvin, which had been in the church of St. Pimen since 1935 after the closure of the church in Sushevo, was returned. The amazing thing is that this icon is the ancient icon that was painted for this temple, that miraculously survived and returned to its ruined temple after 60 years. On the feast of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God on July 9, the first Divine Liturgy was served before the returned temple icon. The image of Our Lady of Tikhvin, now in our church, which has been venerated since ancient times, is touching because it recalls the miraculous image of the Mother of God, who “deigned to appear in 1383 to fishermen over the water without earthly ornaments, which were later donated by diligent Christians”.
After a while, the church was replenished with several large ancient icons transferred from the church of St. Pimen; these are icons of St. Nicholas, St. Seraphim of Sarov, St. Blessed Prince Alexander Nevsky, and St. Great Martyr George the Victorious. These icons were first used to replenish the church with large and small icons that were donated by parishioners and goodwill patrons.
In 1999, a portion of relics of the 12 Starets of Optina were brought from the Optina Hermitage (at our request), and in 2000, the rector of the church, Archpriest Vladimir Yeremin, brought a piece of relics of Archpriest Feodosy of Chernigov, whose incorrupt relics are in the Holy Trinity Cathedral in Chernigov.
Due to scarce funding or the lack of it at all, the restoration and reconstruction of the exterior of the temple are very slow – the temple is huge – more than 800 square meters, and without public funding its restoration will take years. Inside the temple, the work is being done by the parishioners and kind donors. At the end of February, the restoration of the central side-altar of the church and the side-altar in the name of the Apostle Andrew was finished with the donors’ money.
On March 2, 2002, to the great joy of the parishioners, a lightening of the central altar and altar throne was performed by the rector of the Great Ascension Church, archpriest Vladimir Divakov, head of the Patriarchal office.
Despite the ruined appearance of the temple, the grace of God is inherent in this holy place – the temple lives: there are services, the bells ring and the choir sings.