Small but proud Tikhvin
Tikhvin is the very city where you want to unwittingly slow down your pace, organize your thoughts and just enjoy the beauty of nature. To feel yourself out of time, when you come across another wooden house with a mezzanine, fancy porch, window casings. To catch glints of sun on the river, to watch the steed grazing sedately on the bank, to admire the domes of temples and to feel the lightness of being. That is how calm and simple (in a good sense) Tikhvin appeared to me.
But it wasn’t always like this. Once the city had a lively and lively life. Far-sighted and active Emperor Peter I planned to create a water system connecting the Neva and the Volga. An important role in this process played the river Tikhvinka, on which stands the city. The idea was necessary and important, but its implementation lacked funds. Return to it in the early 19th century, since then, the city has become an important trading route. The life in the town started boiling up – axes were pumped, ships sailed on the river, trade was done not only with other cities, but also with other countries. There was a lot of work, almost everyone could find a use for their talents and skills. Particularly enterprising residents were able to make a fortune, to live and not deny themselves anything. Tikhvin residents even invented their own special types of vessels – “tikhvinka” and “sominka”, distinguished by their great carrying capacity, high speed and durability. Over time, the Tikhvin water system could not withstand competition with the more developed Mariinsk one, and the construction of the Nikolayevskaya railroad played its role. In general, Tikhvin lost its former importance, the water system served only for local needs. That is how the capital, prominent merchants and craftsmen left the city, and with them the liveliness and hopes for development. The remains of the locks are now a distant reminder of the city’s former greatness and status. If you don’t overdo the colors and omit the history, the place is very picturesque and pleasant to walk around. Holding on to the railing of the wooden bridge and looking at the streams of water raging under it, hearing the splash of water, I personally internally relaxed and caught this mood.
Perhaps in the same way, with the curiosity peculiar to every child, Nika (as his relatives called him) Rimsky-Korsakov watched the turbulent flow of the Tikhvinka. The great composer was lucky to spend his childhood carefree years in this wonderful town. Here loving parents instilled in him the brightest foundations – love for nature, curiosity and all-round development. And here is their cottage with a mezzanine, located on the outskirts of the city.
The windows had a beautiful view of the river and the monastery, whose bell ringing filled hearts with grace. In summer, in the yard of the house one could admire well-kept flowerbeds with a variety of fragrant and colorful flowers. All thanks to the efforts of Sophia Vasilievna, the mother of the future composer, who loved plants and taught her son to understand them. In the summer and autumn, mother and son enjoyed walks in the woods, gathering berries and mushrooms. I am sure that the environment surrounding a person in his early years largely predetermines his future fate. And the life of Nikolai Andreevich Rimsky-Korsakov is a confirmation of this. Growing up in love and moderate tutelage, allowing his curiosity and talents to unfold. Observing every day all the richness of nature, so close and beautiful – he grew up a deeply sensitive and talented man, who through music was able to express everything that surrounded him, so subtly and soulfully. His parents’ love for each other and family harmony reigned in the family. But the history of their marriage is quite unusual and at first aroused the condemnation of society. In fact, Nikolai Andreyevich’s father did a daring deed – he secretly took the girl, the landlord’s illegitimate daughter, and married her. Well, love pushes on craziness, the more mutual, and society – and God with it, talk and disperse on their own affairs. It is only for the two of them to live, and the couple live together, although the consequences of his deed were serious for Andrei Petrovich – problems with the continuation of his government service. But after a while they were resolved as well. The couple have brought up a worthy son – Warrior (Ivan), a naval officer and did not expect that in their old age they would be consoled by another son. Pregnant Sophia Vasilievna once saw a symbolic dream – an angel who descended from behind threatening clouds and held out to her a burning candle. She took it as a sign that her late son was pleasing to God. Even Niki’s baptismal shirt is preserved in the museum opened in the composer’s house.
The rooms of the estate have recreated the environment that surrounded him in his childhood years. The living room with real parrots chirping and frolics – animals were very much loved in this house.
In the second living room we can see a unique exhibit – a grand piano, where Nikolai Andreyevich and his guests used to sit and the famous singer Chaliapin sang to the accompaniment.
Musical instrument was sold by the composer’s descendants to individuals. Employees of the museum were able to find it and buy it for placement in the memorial exhibition of the estate. The furnishings of Nika’s adored mother’s room have been restored, and there is also a young explorer’s corner with a globe, geographic maps, a telescope and other attributes at the exhibition. Little Nika, inspired by his mother’s stories about the planets and stars, enthusiastically comprehended the mysteries of the universe. His mother was both friend and helper to him. At the age of three, the future composer began to stutter, but through her efforts he managed to cope with this speech defect. The technique of pronouncing the words as if in chanting, which was perceived by Nika as a kind of fun game, helped. The future composer liked to arrange musical improvisation evenings with his father.
Much attention is also given to the composer’s older brother, who participated in the upbringing of his beloved Nika, writing him fascinating letters from his sea voyages and bringing back outlandish finds. This is how Nika discovered the sea – beautiful and mysterious, he passionately dreamed of linking his life with it, becoming a naval officer. But the first voyage put everything in its place. The sea turned out to be beautiful, just as he had dreamed, but the very activity on the ship was rude and not close to Nikolai Andreevich’s soul. Even from his childhood he showed a talent for music, not only for playing the piano, but also for composing. His further development and acquaintance with the members of the “Mighty Handful” (a union of composers) became fateful. And what about the sea? It can be heard in many of the composer’s works. As well as the echoes of nature, remembered in his childhood years.
Go up the steep staircase to the second floor and see the summer rooms and a stunning view of Tikhvinka and the monastery from the window.
In this exposition, elements of everyday life, which surrounded the future composer, and things connected with his creative work – posters of concerts, operas, and costumes – are collected.
18 famous sights of Tikhvin and the surrounding area in the Leningrad region
Tikhvin is a land of unscared birds, here it is easy to find areas of untouched nature, picturesque forests. In the nature park catches fish, grows mushrooms and berries. At every step there are lakes, rivers and streams. Also this town in the Leningrad region attracts tourists with a large number of attractions. The historic center of the city with the buildings of classical architecture of the XVIII century, an abundance of chapels, churches, monasteries, wooden buildings inspires the soul of peace and desire to admire the simple manifestations of human life.
What sights to see in Tikhvin Leningrad region in one day
Tikhvin Monastery of the Assumption carefully preserves its history rooted in the dark past
If a tourist has only one day, there is plenty to see. Where to go? You can devote it to a visit to the Dormition Monastery. Plunge into the complicated and interesting history of this mighty monastery, which for a long time has had a profound influence on the life of the city and its surrounding areas. The history of the Women’s Vvedensky Monastery is interesting. In its difficult times, the nuns selflessly brought it back to life from the ashes. Go to the museum of Rimsky-Korsakov, A. N. Ostrovsky museum, and Holy Trinity Monastery.
Where to go on the outskirts of the city
It is a great idea to visit the outskirts of the city. Rest in an unspoiled corner of nature, the Veps Nature Park. You can just go fishing, pick berries and swim in the forest lake. There are playgrounds and playgrounds and amazingly fresh forest air. You can settle thoroughly and take a room in the cottage not to hurry anywhere. You can just relax and unwind.
It is a wonderful idea to have a rest in an unspoiled nature area – Veps Nature Park
Fans of fishing should go straight to Shugozero, which is 270 km from St. Petersburg. If you and your children are vacationing together, then you need to go directly to the zoo, because you can’t miss such a great opportunity to have fun with your child from the bottom of your heart.
The zoo is located on Moskovskaya Street. It was opened in 1993. The territory where the children’s ecological center was located was chosen for the zoo. The animals were given an area of 327 m2. The zoo staff has 15 employees. Not only the inhabitants of the city, but also tourists like to come here. The total number of visits per year is 7000 people a year. The zoo collection contains various types of animals: 25 of them are fish, 2 – reptiles, 11 – birds, 15 – mammals. Zoo is loved by tourists and children, so its territory is always crowded.
Veps Forest Nature Park
Nature Park Veps Forest is a natural area of special protection of regional significance in the Leningrad region.
Vepsian forest is located on the territory of Podporozhsky, Tikhvinsky, Boksitogorsky and Lodeynopolsky districts of the Leningrad region
Vepsian Forest – an oasis, where the nature, flora and fauna, numerous lakes, which are interspersed with a network of rivers and streams in the primordial form. The air here is clean and fresh, streams are transparent, mushrooms and berries grow, fish splash in the lakes. And temples, chapels and huts fit harmoniously into the natural landscape. Veps live here with their original culture and traditions. Veps Culture Center holds festivals, entertainment programs for different social groups of visitors.
Opened in the early twentieth century during the subordination of the station to the department of Peterburgo-Volgogradskaya railroad. Since 2010, it is subordinated to the department Volkhovstroy. In the process of station foundation the necessary communications were built: barracks for station personnel and workers, the platform was paved with paving slabs, warehouses, workshops, water tower were built. In 2004 the station building was overhauled. It has 4 platforms and 10 tracks. Near the railway station is a bus station “Tikhvin”.
The building of the Gostiny Dvor has existed since the XVIII century and is a model of its architectural culture. It was made in classical style. Before the revolution, it was used by artisans and merchants as a trading house. Then it was turned into a soldier’s barracks. For a long time the building played a role of market. In post-Soviet time it was closed. In 2005, the building was reconstructed, giving it a historical image. Nowadays the Gostiny Dom Shopping Center is located there.
Palace of Culture
In 1982, the Palace of Culture of Kirov factory was opened in the city, which was named after Rimsky-Korsakov
The Palace of Culture has been operating since 1982, it was built and opened in one year. Today it is one of the largest cultural institutions in the Leningrad region. Erected in the Soviet style. The area of the building is more than 9 000 m2 and the hall can seat 860 people. In 2009 it was completely re-equipped with the latest technical equipment, as well as the interior design was reviewed. In addition to the standard auditorium, the House of Culture has a 3D-cinema, which seats 150 visitors, choreography halls, where creative teams of the city rehearse.
Historical and Memorial Museum
In 1917 the museum was closed, and two years later it was reopened on the territory of the abolished Great Assumption monastery.
This is the oldest museum in the Leningrad region. It was created in 1913 on the basis of a public organization of lovers of antiquity. The work was headed by I. P. Mordvinov, an outstanding local historian. During the Second World War, many of the exhibits were lost. Since 1942 the museum was located in the house where Rimsky-Korsakov lived. I.P. Krupeichenko, a teacher of school № 1, together with his students formed a museum at the school. In 1966 the school museum was transferred to the city. It became the basis of the current exposures. Today the museum has 32,000 exhibits.
Tikhvin Vvedenskaya monastery was opened in 1560 by decree of tsar Ivan IV (the Terrible) at the same time as the Uspensky monastery. The reason for the opening of the monastery was the nun Daria, the fourth wife of Ivan the Terrible. She was tonsured a nun a short time after her wedding. During her reign the monastery prospered. A temple of stone was built and new lands appeared. The monastery was plundered by Lithuanians and Swedes. It was restored by nuns. It had to be restored and in 2005. Today the monastery lives its measured quiet life.
Holy Trinity Monastery
Not far from Tikhvin is located Antoniev-Dymsky monastery. In 1200, it was founded by the Venerable Anthony. In 1611, the monastery was destroyed by the Swedes. In 1687 there was a fire in the monastery. It burned down completely and was restored. Since XVIII century, there was a parochial school. The monastery was liquidated in 1919. The monastery began to be restored intensively in 2000. Nowadays it began to live a quiet and measured life.
Church of Our Lady of Tikhvin
The main relic of the Monastery of the Assumption is the miraculous icon of the Mother of God Hodegetria. The monastery was founded in the 16th century. In 1930, the church was closed, and the miraculous icon was sent to a local history museum. During the war the icon ended up in Pskov, and from there it was handed over to the spiritual Orthodox mission. After that it toured many countries: Riga, Libava, Jablonza, Germany. Bishop John (Garclavs) took the icon to Chicago. He bequeathed it to be returned to Russia after the Tikhvin Monastery was completely restored. After its restoration the icon was returned to Russia.
Cathedral of the Transfiguration
The temple was erected on the site of the old churches in 1693 – 1748. In 1872-188 it was rebuilt. The works were designed by an architect I. Bulanov. The cathedral was expanded due to the addition of the refectory, which moved the side-altars. During the Soviet regime, in 1939, the cathedral was closed for a long time inactive. It was opened only in 1993. The main patronal holiday is held on August 19 and April 7. At the beginning of the XXI century the church was restored. It was consecrated by priest Alexander Vakhovsky.
Church of the icon of the Mother of God of the Sign
The first mention of the temple dates back to the XVI century. At that time there were built 2 wooden churches “Znamenskaya” and “Frola and Lavra”. In 1613 the Tikhvin settlement burned down. By 1700 the church “Frola and Lavra” reproduced in its original form. At the beginning of XVIII century the stone “Znamenskaya” church was built. Then it was once again built by a merchant Goremukha. In the 1920s, the church was closed. Over the years it was used for repairs of cars and tanks, then there was a city mill and a warehouse for a confectionery factory. The church was brought back to life only by 1991. Since then, there have been services there.
House Museum of Rimsky-Korsakov
The personal belongings of the Rimsky-Korsakov family are preserved; and the most important thing is that the grand piano, on which the composer played, is alive
The manor, where the great composer spent his childhood, is home to a museum. The mansion was built in the first half of the 19th century. It was included in the list of architectural monuments of history. The museum is a one-storeyed noble estate with a mezzanine. Near the mansion there is a garden, where the composer liked to take walks in moments of inspiration. Expositions of the museum reflect the era of the great musician, items of those times, documents and photographs. The composer’s house allows visitors to breathe a breath of the creative atmosphere in which the Russian musical genius created his masterpieces.
Monument to Rimsky-Korsakov
The monument is a right angle column with a bust of the great composer on top
On the territory of the estate there is not only a house-museum, but also a small chapel, and monuments and sculptures
On the territory of the family estate (now a house-museum of N. Rimsky-Korsakov) is a monument to the great Russian composer. Apart from the house, the estate includes a small chapel and a sculptural group. The childhood of the genius musician passed in the family estate. And exactly here a monument to N. A. Rimsky-Korsakov is erected. It is made in the form of a column, which is crowned with a bust of the great composer. The tourists, admiring his great talent, bring bouquets of fresh flowers to the monument.
This picturesque body of water is located in the Tikhvin district. It was named after the village of the same name. It is situated between two rivers and three lakes. From Shugozero starts the river Shuiga, which connects it with the Pasha River. The lake is situated in a basin, overgrown with rich vegetation on all sides and has a circular shape. Its length is 4 km and width is 1.7 km. The depth of the lake reaches 25 meters. In the pond there are a lot of fish. For lovers of fishing the rest here will be unforgettable.
Bell tower of the Assumption Monastery
The bell tower of the Tikhvin Monastery of the Assumption is a large three-tiered belfry with many rooms
It is a beautiful ornament of the Monastery of the Assumption. It was built in 1600. The belfry has a five-span structure. The spans are crowned with decorative flags and a pointed spire. The belfry was damaged by a fire in 1623. It was restored to its original appearance in 1631. And in 1777 it was significantly reconstructed. The monument was not spared by the World War II, and it was seriously damaged. The restoration, carried out in 1960, returned it to its original appearance, which it had in the XVIII century.
The construction of the cathedral was begun in 1383. The construction of the cathedral was dedicated to the Tikhvin miracle-working icon of the Mother of God. This icon is the main of all the icons located in it. During the fire in 1624 the cathedral was severely damaged, the restoration returned it to its proper appearance. The parishioners of Tikhvin, when visiting the cathedral, bow before the Mother of God, with great reverence for the images of the Savior Not Made by hands and St. Nicholas. Throughout the city one can hear the sound of the cathedral’s big bell.
The Holy Gate
The gate is built of beautiful decorations, apertures, as well as at the entrance are placed the corbel arches, which give an amazing view at the entrance to the church
The Church of the Ascension, where the Holy Gates are located, was built in the middle of the 16th century, during the war between the Russians and the Swedes. The time refers to the reign of Boris Godunov. The Holy Gate was made of magnificent decorations and openings. The church entrance, adorned with the cocochets, was particularly well done. In a fire in 1623, the Holy Gates were significantly damaged. They were restored in 1641-1662 by Rodion Sergeyev, an expert in icon painting. He restored them to their original form, giving the arches and facades of the Holy Gate an unusual beauty.
Holy Virgin Uspensky monastery
In 1560 on the bank of the river Tikhvinka the foundation of the holy monastery in honor of the Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God was laid
The monastery was founded in 1560. Russian Tsar Ivan IV, nicknamed by the people The Terrible for his cruel temper, ordered it to be built. It was located on the bank of the river called the Tikhvinka. The reason for the pilgrimage, made here by believers, is that the miraculous Tikhvin icon of the Mother of God Hodegetria was located in the monastery. Under Soviet rule, the temple did not operate. For many years the shrine was absent from the church: it was transported to safe places to keep the peace. She was in Riga, Germany, Chicago. After the full revival of the church, the icon was returned to Russia.